Baieido Tobiume (from Ross)

Baieido has introduced a new incense in their Meditation or Woods line up called Tobiume. I got the 60 stick small box about a week ago and have been slowly working my way into it. It is somewhat reminiscent of Syukohkoku in that there seems to be a similar spice/herb/resin mix but it is paired with a different Aloeswood then the Syukohkoku, in this case from Indonesian sources. I found this to be a very grounding and meditative mix, strong and one that can seemingly change scents from stick to stick. Really it depends what other scents are in the room and, I believe, aromatic fatigue could play a huge role with this one. I have found both vanilla and chocolate(not huge, but there) notes as well as what I considered a very Chinese herb like mix. There are no oils in this blend, but there certainly very high quality ingredients, which is something that makes this company so good.

I find it very interesting and like so many of Baieido’s incenses, with a long learning curve. Which to me means a long term relationship! I think many people will find this more approachable then Syukohkoku. It comes across a little lighter but with all the levels going for it. It is priced very reasonably and hey, Christmas is coming and you could get yourself a present.

I also noticed at Baieido’s blog that there is mention of a Mint based incense that has been released in Japan. A little something to look forward to from what is to my way of thinking is one of the very best incense companies around.

-Ross

6 Comments

  1. Haroon said,

    May 4, 2013 at 9:17 am

    Tobiume is awesome. Great for a newb like me. The scent is strong, but fleeting at the same time. I get very cool vibes from this, almost like snow. The color white really suites this scent.

    I also own Syokokoku and Syukokoku Tokusen. Lately I have been burning a lot from Shoyeido’s daily incense series (white moss & and autumn leaves).

  2. glennjf said,

    May 13, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Another thumbs up for Tobiume from me (Australia). Just lovely it is, a lot like Syukohkoku and also like Kaden Family Secret, at least to my nose. Tobiume will be part of my collection from now, no doubt about that.

  3. Janet said,

    November 24, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Tobiume is super…like Ross said, it has similarities to Syukohkoku (which I also love), but then goes off into its own territory – a nice strong, rich scent that has all the incredible Baieido woodiness and touches of sweetness and spice and camphor all balanced perfectly! It’s an amazing incense for an amazing price…
    And a little birdie has told me that another of our regulars loves it even more than I, so I’m guessing Terry is right and this one will be very successful!

  4. Terry M said,

    November 23, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Hi Ross and David, Well as usual, Baieido came through with another astounding scent. Tobiume is super! Like other fantastic scents from Baieido, this one is different enough to be coveted. Reminiscent of other high quality scents from this company, this one is definitely a keeper (my opinion only of course). This company certainly has the “edge” on others when it comes to traditional scents. They just keep turning out excellent incense. Hats off to the Koh masters at Baieido.. David, hope you stock deeply, you’re gonna need it………. TM, New Mexico naive.

  5. Ross Urrere said,

    November 17, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Thanks David

  6. David Oller said,

    November 16, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Hi Ross,

    I don’t want to comment on Tobiume, I generally prefer to say as little as possible about a new incense until others have had a chance to examine it for themselves, but on the matter of our Double Mint or Mint incense (same incense) we have had it available in the USA for about 6 months. It’s part of the Imagine Series. We have plenty in stock.

    On Tobiume, I understand most of the stores are already sold out, and it may be a few weeks before we get another (small) shipment. We hope to have it available for full distribution by next February.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

