Ramakrishnanda Incense (2)

Wow, this is one mighty fine line. I may have mentioned before but there are definitely similarities between incenses in various companies and lines and so there have been times where I’ve completely lost track of an old favorite only for it to show up again in a new stick and package. And fortunately that just happened again.

And that would be the Gopala, a special floral blend. To back up a bit, one of the more well known Indian imports is a gold on red packaged incense called Sai Flora, which is probably about the thickest durbar out there. I mentioned it earlier, I think, Mystic Temple call their similar blend Golden Champa and it’s a very heady, earthy stick. Anyway there’s a smaller company called Shantimalai that, at least used to do their own Sai Flora and it was this incense I used to adore. Like Sai Flora but not as earthy and more fruity and sweet, just a flat out classic that would be on my top 10 had I had a stick in years. But in a way, now I do. The Gopala isn’t as big or thick as a stick as any of the previously mentioned but as a bouquet it is very close to what I remember as the Shanthi Sai Flora, and the fact that it’s a regular stick is probably not a bad thing. It may be that my packages are just super fresh or maybe the whole line is this perfectly scented, but this incense is basically superb and highly recommended.

Backing up a bit, I did finish off the Yamuna stick that I spoke about yesterday. As much as I liked the idea of a vanilla, amber and copal blend, the charcoal-like stick that holds the Yamuna manage to only portray the vanilla part and given how fresh everything else is, it’s hard to imagine that the amber had already gone. Unfortunatlely it just reminds me of a Primo floral like jasmine or yellow rose. Since the samplers come with two sticks each, I’ve got one more but I doubt I’ll like it anymore than I do now.

As an amber, sandalwood and cinnamon¬†blend, the Hari wasn’t at all what I was expecting. Extraordinarily floral for such a combination and quite a floral at that, almost heady in its scent. In fact I’d forgotten this had a cinnamon part, because I don’t remember that so much. But given the whole impression of this is quite new, I like it.

Mayapur is presented as Nag Champa, but for such an appelation it was a bit of a let down, not really anything like Nag from my perspective, close to the Narasingha Dev blend with its sweet resiny overtones, and maybe a bit too undistinguished in comparison. For some reason I thought this was the Nag Champa Supreme when I burned it so my expectations might have been a bit too high for it.

Shyam is something of a Sandalwood Champa and is similar to the Rare Essence blends Supreme Sandalwood and Precious Sandalwood, not as dry and woody as the former or as deep and oil-rich as the latter, with a hint of floral at the front. I love these blends in general so I found this to be quite good.

I also gave about a centimeter burn to the Mukunda and Gopinatha blends, both of which are fairly similar despite the former being patchouli and spice, and the latter iris flower and jasmine. Both dark sticks with very heady oil, I get the impression I’m going to like both a great deal. In fact I’d say with these two and the above-mentioned Gopala, the best of the three sampler packs may be the Dhanvantari, although the presence of the Yamuna weakens the overall a bit. But I’ll leave talk on these two after some more experience with them.

Leave a Reply

