Yog-Sadhana +

I asked Beth at Essence of the Ages for a few recommendations and one of them was this Nepalese Yog-Sadhana stick. I’m sure I’ll talk about the others later, but this one stands out to me in particular as being unlike anything else I’ve tried. They’re 8 1/2 inch sticks and put out quite a bit of smoke, but what a scent it is, somewhere between a clove/nutmeg sort of blend and a heavy resin note. The description says woody and cooling, although I don’t get the former so much as the latter, cooling is the perfect word for it. Clove often reminds people of the accompanying cigarettes, but here’s a nice clove content without that sort of distracting comparison.

And just another comment on the Kyukyodo Azusa, that is one extremely incredible incense, probably amazing me more than the Sho Ran Ko only as it’s so much more affordable. Will likely be a favorite for a long time, but again it’s about as highly recommended an incense at that price as I can name.

Coming soon, hopefully, a September top 10, a look into the full Nippon Kodo Yume No Yume (including one deleted item), New Morning Star and (brand new) Kohden lines, a couple of temple blends, a few color-coded Nitiraj Nag Champas, and a couple more Tibetans.

7 Comments

  1. Terra Renee said,

    July 5, 2015 at 11:41 am

    I loathed this at first and thought it was a pity I’d wasted money on this, but after burning it a few times, I started to recognize the intricacies of this incense. It’s long and thick and lasts a long time. I also ground up 1/4 of a stick and put it on the Golden Lotus heater. It smelled amazing!

    • Mike said,

      July 7, 2015 at 3:28 pm

      It is a smoky one originally, in fact might be one of the smokiest incenses ever, but its spiciness has always made it a favorite. For big rooms.

  2. Steve said,

    December 7, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    A heads-up: Beth’s 12-days of Christmas sale at Essence of the Ages includes Yog-Sadhana today. Review the writeup here, but know that it is a very nice Tibetan-style (actually Nepal) incense. On my permanent stock list…

  3. October 2, 2008 at 9:47 am

    […] 2, 2008 at 9:47 am (Incense, Nepal) Readers of ORS will likely be familiar with Yog Sadhana incense, a site Hall of Fame pick (be sure to scroll down and read the comments on this page for […]

  4. Claire said,

    October 2, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Yog-Sadhana – Unknown manufacturer

    I lit this then left the room for a minute. When I came back there was a subtle and somewhat sweet aroma of coconut with slight undertones that I felt were more floral than woody. I can’t say that I personally detected an aroma that I would call spicy BUT part of the aroma did make me think of warm oatmeal cookies which is a characteristic I detected in a blend I made myself that included cardamom, cassia and clove – so perhaps that note comes from the use of clove.

    This one throws out quite a bit of white smoke but somehow doesn’t make the room smoky at all which is both surprising and pleasing! As a result, it didn’t really irritate my eyes or sinuses at all. I might even go so far as to say I felt that I could breathe a bit easier using it – like a watered down version of breathing in menthol steam. I’m guessing that’s why it is described as cooling although it didn’t actually make my throat and nose feel cold like menthol steam would.

    I found it to be a much smoother, mellower blend than the “Ganesh Dhoop” (Essence of the Ages) that I’d tried about 30 minutes earlier. In fact, I found it to be a calming but energising blend – that sounds like a bit of a contradiction in terms but what I mean is that I feel it would be good to burn when you have to get through a lot of work and don’t want to feel the obvious pressure you are under. It made me feel quite calm but alert whilst burning it… and perhaps a tad hungry because of that cookie quality to the aroma!

  5. Mike said,

    April 16, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Yeah this one’s one of the best. I’m curious about the others made by the same company.

  6. Steve said,

    April 16, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Tried this for the first time today – thoroughly enjoyed it and will keep this one stocked! It really does put out a lot of smoke and the scent is just as you describe it, Mike. On occasion I swear I think of applesauce as I burn this – must be a slight sweet combined with the clove/nutmeg – or I’m just hungry 🙂

    Steve


Leave a Reply

