Tennendo / Frankincense

I’m still absorbing a rather large order of late and in this case several of the new sticks (mostly Shunkodo) are a lot more subtle and mellow than I expected. Along with reduced time to write, it’s probably going to be a little while before I can finish several articles, but I wanted to bring one stick to attention that was instantly absorbable.

I love frankincense, but just like many aromatic ingredients, it varies in quality quite a bit. On the low end I have a large jar full of frankincense that I never go back to, bought the resin in a local herbal store and found it weak overall. And on the other end there’s the gorgeous Omani frankincense, which appears to be, if such a thing could be said, the kyara of frankincense, a much richer and deeper aroma, beyond even the great citrusy notes you expect.

Tennendo Frankincense (third and fourth item on page) uses that very type of Frankincense for this stick and has released it in both regular and deluxe “Black Box” packaging, which means for the latter you’re largely paying for presentation. Frankincense sticks vary as much as incense does, but this is probably the closest I’ve come in stick form to smelling the pure thing. In fact I’d a hazard a guess and say this is basically the resin and enough binder to make a stick of it. The smell is as rich and expansive as just about any pure resin Frankincense I’ve had and the stick is quite affordable. It’s an essential purchase for the frankincense appreciator, assuming you’re OK without the pretty box.

10 Comments

  1. Tiger said,

    October 22, 2011 at 9:20 am

    I first want to start off by saying I am a big fan of Frankincense resins, I have a wide variety of different resins from different regions.

    That being said, I find Tennendo Frankincense to be my favorite Japaneses Frankincense stick. It is the closes to pure resin of any other stick. And yes it is Omen Frankincense that you do smell. 🙂 At least when compared to burning (and heating) the resin. I have a good supply of this one on hand. And burn at least a stick of it everyday.

    I do have to say that Shoyeido’s Gourmet Frankincense or Naz-zan Southern Mountain Frankincense (these are the same), is also good but in a different way. As it is more rich and creamy of a blend that is very nice, but not really like burning (or heating) any frankincense that I have every tried. But you do smell the frankincense coming out in it, as it doesn’t over power it. This is another one I have a good supply of.

    I know that a lot of people say to try the Minorien Frankincense. But to be honest, I don’t really care for it. I have tried it many times, but it is too much of a blend for me. The blend seems to over power the natural sent of the frankincense.

    Of coarse these are just my opinions. As everyone has different tastes. That is why it so nice to see a place like this to help us all share our opinions.

    Tiger

  2. B.H. Wolf said,

    October 28, 2009 at 5:54 am

    After reading this entry, I went online to Essence of the Ages and ordered up a ten-roll box a few weeks ago.

    I love it absolutely. It is really the closest to the pure resin I have come across in stick form. I like to light a stick when I come home after a long day, and I also love having it on as I get dressed in the morning. The scent is so light and refreshing, its wonderful.

    I can see this being the regular background incense for me to burn as I take my clients through spiritual readings and healings.

  3. clairsight said,

    September 7, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Thanks for posting Oman. I to tend to enjoy frankincense by itself or with a couple of other raw spices or resins on my incense heater. In fact i just got done grinding some up for that, smells so wonderful when freshly ground. It is from Oman ad might be Hougari. I would be very curious to smell the Sacra. If you know of a website selling it when the harvest comes in please let use know.
    Also, just ran across this site for some great info

    http://www.sqcc.org/about_oman/frankincense.htm

    thanks
    -Ross

  4. Oman said,

    September 7, 2008 at 3:19 am

    My own preference is for Boswellia Sacra alone . In a months time it will be the harvest season and I’ll collect some .

  5. Mike said,

    August 18, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Thanks for the post. I have a link somewhere on the site that goes to an article on the anti-anxiety qualities of Frankincense, you may get a kick out of it.

  6. Beavis Christ said,

    August 18, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    I have purchased Tennendo’s frankincense based on the reviews here and must say I am floored by it. I have NEVER experienced an incense quite like this.

    — opening the tube and taking a whiff revealed an almost orange type of citrus note. Very clean and pure smelling. This was an entirely new type of frankincense to me as I was used to Shoyeido’s “Diamond Power” and raw resins …not from Oman.

    — burn time seems quite long for a stick this length

    — potency: this stuff FILLS an area with fragrance. PLUS it has an uncanny ability to linger long after the burn is complete

    — physical effects: I seem to be able to breathe more deeply and it may be a mild expectorant

    Overall, Tennendo’s Frankincense is very cleansing, pure, and potent stuff. I think the source being from Oman and Tennendo’s attention to quality are key to this awesome incense.

  7. Mike said,

    April 3, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    My experience (and it’s not necessary that broad) is that note is what you tend to get with the best, highest quality Frankincense resins. Definitely check out the Minorien blend as a comparison, as it goes for the more orthodox/catholic spicy resin sort of smell and I think they both scratch different itches.

  8. Steve said,

    April 3, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Am enjoying the Tennendo Frankincense now. Is that a citrus or even melon top to this? Very nice – I guess I haven’t had a frankincense as clean smelling as this. I opted for the “plain wrapper” version – excellent for only eight bucks and a quarter.

    Steve

  9. January 28, 2008 at 8:49 am

    […] reviewed the Tennendo Frankincense earlier among the seven rolls, but I’m also leaving off, for now, the Karafune and Kohrokan […]


Leave a Reply

