Keigado / Purple Magnolia

From what I can tell with English information, Keigado mostly do three styles of incense: floral blends including smokeless scents, two different meditation long sticks and a standard called Full Moon. Undoubtedly their Japanese catalog is deeper.

In question seems to be one of the only non-smokeless floral incenses, Purple Magnolia. Given 370 3 inch sticks for $16.00-18.00, this is a very inexpensive blend, one that blends a floral and somewhat earthy scent with a backing of slight spice. Purple when it comes to incense invokes for me both violet and spice, and I’m reminded of unusual spice masalas that have an almost Crayola-like note. While Purple Magnolia doesn’t have the same note, the slight spice hints make this a little more alluring than it would be if this was just your average wood-and-flower.

I’m not sure how much this actually smells like purple magnolias or any magnolias for that matter, but it’s very user friendly with just a slight exotic tinge that gives it a bit of character. Ask your supplier for a sampler, as although they don’t seem to retail, it’s how I came across this.

6 Comments

  1. Mike said,

    May 14, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Hi Rajesh. I have to say that most of the Flute incenses at Excelsior look like they might be charcoal punks dipped in oil. I avoid those, but if I’m wrong about this, do let me know.

  2. Rajesh said,

    May 14, 2008 at 2:05 am

    I love incense and have been a ardent follower of exotic incense,but till now i have not come across a better one than Flute incense (especially the lavender and green apple fragrances!!!-the best)—-the fragrance is locked inside a cover and it smells divine.
    i heard it is sold very good in most stores in the united states -especially in the bay area-san francisco.just log onto http://www.excelsiorincense.com and go through flute incense —-and maybe you can call them too for fragrant recommendations!!!rock!!

  3. Mike said,

    November 21, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    You too Nancy!

  4. Nancy Hyton said,

    November 21, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Thanks for the info! I’ve already checked out Alice’s Restaurant. I look forward to your future postings. Take care and happy thanksgiving.

  5. Mike said,

    November 20, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    Hi Nancy and thanks for the feedback and information. I did not know the champa flower was a relative of the magnolia and find that very interesting. I know when it comes to champa masalas, the scent of the flower often gets buried by other ingredients, although I tried a Tibetan variant I thought might be closer as it just seems to be wood, binder and the scent. My impression was that champa flower was a lot milder than nag champa incense. 🙂 Thanks for the link, it took me a sec to realize that your link has the added period on the end, so I hope you don’t mind me fixing it.

    I actually started to get more interested in reviewing various incenses when I realized that there really wasn’t anyone else out there doing so except for reviews in the occasional perfume blog and customer reviews at one or two of the shops. With so many interests well represented on the net, I thought there was something of a vacuum when it came to incense.

    As far as incense groups I know there are a couple on yahoo groups, one called Incense Exchange and another called Alice’s Restaurant. The former is really for those who make their own incense which I’ve only experimented with in the past, but I learn a lot from the posters and it’s very high traffic. Alice’s Restaurant, if I’m not mistaken is run by Baieido’s US rep, but is very low traffic, but it does, at least in part, address retail incense and I’ve learned some interesting things there as well.

    And if I do run across something else, I’ll be sure to point it out here.

  6. Nancy Hyton said,

    November 20, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    I am writing in response to your posting on Purple Magnolia and your question as to whether this particular incense smells like magnolia or not. I see you are already familiar with Satya Sai Baba Nag Champa incense from other posts. I thought you might find it interesting to know that champa flower is actually a species of magnolia (Michelia champaca Magnoliaceae). Check out this link for a peak at the flower and a bit of lore: http://www.pure-incense.com/nagchampa-incense.html

    I also love incense, especially the Japanese stuff. I burn it most days and even travel with it as I just can’t bear to be without it. Seems you are a connoisseur of sorts as well and I have truly enjoyed reading about your experiences. Thank you! I have had a difficult time finding reviews and recommendations on this subject. Perhaps you know of a group or blog for those who love incense?


Leave a Reply

