Incense during flu season

I’ve had an icky bug since about Saturday, which has put something of a damper on burning incense thanks to the coughing and sinus irritation. For me the flu puts a pretty ugly lens over everything and incense is no different. Everything that aromatic fatigue knocks out is gone with a cold, leaving often the most astringent qualities of the incense and not much of the subtlety, which means it’s impossible to evaluate anything fairly. So although I’ve got an article or two ready to write up when I am, it’ll be slow going in this area for another week or so.

So I figured it might be a good idea during the pause to say that if any readers have any particular incenses they’d like to hear about, to feel free to let me know here and I’ll see what I can do once the flu goes byebye.

4 Comments

  1. Christian Valencia said,

    November 14, 2014 at 6:21 am

    I have a question.. is there any incense that helps with the flu?

  2. Bernd Sandner said,

    January 23, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Mike,
    thanks for the reply! Just to correct myself. I have also tried the “regular” Kyara Taikan only.
    But my thoughts go the same direction as yours.
    On the other hand, one incense shop owner, whose opinion I trust, says, that most of NK incenses is, as you said too, for the masses. But the exeptionel incense was supposed to be something special, created by craftsmen following the old tradition. I don’ know. At the moment I think for this much money I can almost get two boxes of Sho-Ran-Ko.

  3. Mike said,

    January 23, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks for the kind thoughts Bernd. I did take it easy while I was sick, although I’m just about crazy for being home for so long and looking forward to getting out.

    I haven’t tried any of the most exceptional NK incenses. My thought process after trying the “regular” Kyara Taikan and Kyara Kongo was that I’d probably prefer other incenses at the same price range. And to hear you say the one you tried was too sweet confirms my suspicions. For some reason I tend to think of a lot of NK incense as being more mass market than artisan, so I tend to pass them up for other more tradtional scents. But I’m sure my curiosity will eventually win out.

    Mike

  4. Bernd Sandner said,

    January 23, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Dear Mike,
    I hope you will get better soon. If you can, that’s if you do not have to work, be lazy and try to enjoy the immobility of mind and body. Sometimes illness has it’s good sides, if you can find them.

    Last time we were talking about premium aloeswood and kyara incense. Did you have the chance to try the high class Nippon Kodo incenses, like Gokuhin Kyara Taikan orTokusen Kyara Kayou? I have only tried the Kyara Taikan, and I appreciate the good quality of this incense. But still I am not realy satisfied with it. For me it is too sweet. So I burn it quite rarely.

    Take care! Bernd


Leave a Reply

