Coming up…

Here’s a list of some articles I’ve been working on over the weeks and in some cases months. I hope to have the Shoyeido/LISN Part 2 up today at some point. If there’s anything on this list you’d like to see sooner than later, by all means let me know.

Coming soon:

  • Shoyeido 12 Months (two parts – these are really really good)
  • Shoyeido Sakaki
  • Korean Incense (Bo Rim, Ja Keum, and a few others)
  • Mermade Magickal Arts cones
  • Kyukyodo (incenses exported to Europe)
  • Encense du Monde/Kunjodo (incenses exported to Europe)
  • Keiunko

Coming later:

  • Shoyeido Shino-nome/Miyako-Gusa
  • Tennendo/Karafune, Kohrokan Sandalwood, Yoshino Hills, Scent of Kyoto
  • Baieido/Jinkoya Sakubei/Kokonoe Koh, Kunsho Koh
  • Kunmeido/various
  • Nippon Kodo/ two daily incenses
  • Losel Monastery/two blends
  • Joyoko/Ranshuko temple blends

Unknown

  • Shoyeido Premium/Misho through Matsu-no-tomo (won’t be too long)
  • Shoyeido Premium/Sho-kaku through Nan-kun (might be a while still)
  • Shoyeido Heart/Ai-Shin, Do-Shin, En-Shin
  • Shunkodo/Chinsoku-Koh, Shun Koh Sen
  • Baieido

If you’d like to see something else on this list, please check out the Reviews Information page above.

4 Comments

  1. Mike said,

    April 17, 2008 at 7:25 am

    I burned some Sho-Ran-Ko last night and detected almost like a bit of chesnut or something. The more I burn that incense the more it reveals itself. Ditto with Enkuu and Ranjatai for that matter. I wonder if those higher end Shoyeidos have the same sort of qualities that continue to reveal themselves over time. Even with how good Shokaku is, when I burn it I rarely notice anything I hadn’t before. And given how sweet kyara incenses can be and how much my incense tastes gravitate more towards the dry, I’m finding that I’m just as satisfied with incenses that I pay much less for than the higher Shoyeido premiums. What would make me happy is a “big box” of Enkuu. 🙂

  2. Ross said,

    April 16, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    I too am finding that Ranjatai is something I find myself burning very often. More now then when I got it 2 months ago. In fact I really like it just before I sleep. There is just something about the stateliness of the scent that is so soothing and at the same time makes me feel very contented. The Laughing Orchid is another of my favorites now. A little “lighter” and almost voluptuous in texture but, man, its just so good. Plus I love the fact that there are lots of sticks in the box. Its sort of like, yes, they are very high grade and precious, yet still approachable and to some degree you can, somehow see using them more often then the really high end kyara’s and aloes.

    Ross

  3. Mike said,

    April 14, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Thanks Steve. Ranjatai is really awesome, will definitely be a top 10er this year. I’ve had it for a while, but it still continues to get better as I get used to it. Best thing about Shunkodo are the big rolls!

  4. Steve said,

    April 14, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Mike – you got 1 vote for the Shunkodo review! Just picked up their Ka-Cho-Fu-Getsu (Beth at EotA has it new and featured on her homepage) and am enjoying it a great deal. Also have their premium sampler, but haven’t had a chance to try. I know you are a big fan of their Ranjatai. Seems like a company destined to be a favorite!

    Will be glad to see any of these…

    Steve


Leave a Reply

