New site administration, welcomes and more

I’d like to welcome everyone coming over from the new Essence of the Ages newsletter and web site and thank Beth for including the link and description. I hope you’ll all find plenty of information here to help guide you to new incenses you might like. Please avail yourself of the Incense Reviews Index and Incense of Hall of Fame to get your feet wet and feel free to jump into the conversation at any time. I do use a filter for spam here, but once a person’s first post is approved, it is approved from that computer from then on. Feel free to use the About page to contact me if you have any questions.

As of this morning, I’ve restored all the relevant links from Mike’s Prattle. In terms of incense suppliers and companies, any time I’ve had more than three highly satisfactory experiences at a company, if you hover over their link it will say Consistently Excellent Service. But everyone I’ve listed under suppliers is a company I’ve had at least one excellent experience with. If I haven’t had a good experience the company will not be on the list.

I’d also like to welcome friend and new Olfactory Rescue Serviceman Ross Urrere as a contributor. We’re still working on getting his account set up, but I’m looking forward to reading his future reports. As an example, this was Ross’s first writeup for Mike’s Prattle.

More reports should be returning to the site this week. If you’ve noticed, I’ve managed to get the randomly generated avatars back, this time little weird creatures. I’ve got a few options for these so let me know what you think.

[Later edit: Thanks to Steve’s idea I’ve started an “Ask the Olfactory Rescue Service” page.]

6 Comments

  1. Mike said,

    June 7, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Thanks Steve, I guess you’re right it’s been over a year. Wow huh? Definitely felt like a birthday today. 😀

  2. Steve said,

    June 7, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Are congratulations in order, Mike? Based on the dates of the Archives, I believe you just had an anniversary with ORS/Prattle! Great first year, Sir!

    Steve

  3. Mike said,

    June 4, 2008 at 2:02 am

    All links on the Incense Reviews Index are now up to date. However, there may be in-article links that will eventually not work when I remove the incense articles from Mike’s Prattle. If anyone sees a link (or trackback) that doesn’t work please let me know.

  4. Mike said,

    June 3, 2008 at 4:06 am

    Links on the Hall of Fame page now point to Olfactory Rescue Service rather than Mike’s Prattle. Please let me know if any of the links don’t work. I still have to fix the Index, whose articles also currently point to MP, hope to have those all fixed by the weekend.

  5. Mike said,

    June 3, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Hey Steve. More bio information will be forthcoming I would think, we’re still early setting it up and part of that is I don’t actually see my personal e-mail from this computer.

    I think your “Ask the ORS Community a Question” page is a great idea. Will add pronto.

    And I may very well switch back to the original avatars soon, the little monster guys gave me one that looks like a walking erm never mind. 😀

    mike

  6. Steve said,

    June 3, 2008 at 2:07 am

    Hey Ross – what a great deal for the rest of us that you are joining ORS as an “official” contributor. You’ve always made very knowledgeable comments, well-written, here. You have a style that is straightforward, clean and gentle – perhaps gentlemanly is the descriptor that has always registered in my mind. I think your and Mike’s styles are very compatible and you’re going to make a great blog even stronger. Would like to see some more about you on the “About” page (wouldn’t mind a bit more about Mike, too!) if that’s appropriate to ask for and you wish to share a bit about yourselves.

    If I may throw a recommendation in for consideration – would you both be open to a FAQ page and/or a “Ask the ORS Community a question” page? Considering the experience found in this community, I often have little questions (which burner to buy, how to store, etc.) I would love feedback on, but hate to litter existing, unrelated threads. Thoughts?

    Since you asked, Mike, I enjoy the random avatars, though I thought the original icons seemed more consistent with the blog theme than the little weird dudes. Won’t lose sleep either way 🙂

    Steve


Leave a Reply

