Tashi Lhunpo Monastery

I wanted to make a quick mention of this monastery’s incenses, now at Essence of the Ages. In one of those neat synchronicities a couple readers (thankyou E. and M.) sent me a box of the Shing Kham Kun Khyab this weekend based on their love for this incense and I have to admit I found it really amazing. It’s sort of a rough “red tara” scent that reminds me of some of those red/rose color durbars you might find at Matchless Gifts, where there’s a real damp smell to it that will remind you of a day after rain. It’s one of the most affordable boxes on that page, which really bodes well for the rest of the line. Full write ups coming in the future, this could end up becoming a favorite…

4 Comments

  1. November 6, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    […] 6, 2008 at 2:34 pm (Incense, Tashi Lhunpo, Tibet) In early June I made a small post on Tashi Lhunpo monastery, when some friends of ORS sent me a box of Shing Kham Kun Khyab almost […]

  2. Mike said,

    October 2, 2008 at 10:15 am

    The kind folks who introduced me to this incense said it reminded them of a day after a rain and I really warmed to that description. Like most reddish Tibetan incenses it does seem to have juniper or juniper berry which can definitely be offputting to the Western nose at times. I wonder if the sour and slightly fruity aspects come from this.

  3. Claire said,

    October 2, 2008 at 2:59 am

    Shing Kham Kun Khyab – Tashi Lhunpo Monastery

    My first thought when lighting this was fruity, however, as it continued to burn I could no longer detect that particular initial fruitiness. What was coming through though was the only hint of aroma I had detected in the “Green Tara Gift Set” (by Lucky Tibetan Incense Company) – only quite a lot stronger.

    Dare I say that I’m not overly keen on this particular aroma? It is sort of sour and warm (humid) and reminds me very much of the smell of a pouch of hand rolling tobacco (and I’m not particularly a tobacco fan). It’s also similar to the smell I get from my little kitchen compost tub when it hasn’t been emptied for a few days and the contents have gone all limp, turned into a damp mush and started to ferment! I could go further and say it also reminds me of the odour of the sort of sweat that seems particular only to people who have faces that remind me of sausage rolls (think plump and shiny like the puff pastry on a sausage roll). Eating my cheap brand of baked beans in tomato sauce at teatime I also realised that the sauce had a similar sour aroma. Odd! Wow, I’ve really gone to town trying to describe “sour”!

    This blend made me belch a little bit too. I had this reaction recently with “Earth Church” (by Mermaid Magickal Arts – check her incenses out if you haven’t had chance yet as the potency of the aromas will blow you away, they really are quite special) which also has a sour note (a particularly strong one). I had thought it was the ylang ylang in that blend as that can make me nauseous but, given my reaction to “Shing Kham Kun Khyab”, I think it might just be that sour notes don’t agree with my stomach.

    I think the sour note might be what Mike describes as a “tang”.

  4. clairsight said,

    June 5, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I think this maker is mentioned (at least the one called Agar 31) in one of the current books I am reading, Incense and Incense Rituals, by Thomas Kinkele. He gives it high praise. I think I may be getting some of these quite soon.

    Ross


Leave a Reply

