Tashi Lhunpo Monastery / Himalayan Healing- Agar 31

It’s been awhile since I have used Tibetan style incense and as I rediscovered it is very different from the Japanese. This one, Himalayan Healing- Agar 31, from Tashi Lhunpo Monastery( third one from top) intrigued me because I saw it or the style (still not quite sure which from the way it was written) in a book I am reading called “Incense and Incense Rituals” by Thomas Kinkele.

He talks about the purity and general healing attributes of this one and I was so curious that when I saw it at Essence of the Ages I decided to find out how it worked for me.

Right off you can smell the Aloeswood/Agarwood as a major base note in the mix. It’s strong enough to make me wonder how they can charge so little for the box. After that I am sad to say I do not recognize too much else. But the ingredients list is huge which means things are going to be in small amounts per stick. The woods stand out, it’s not sweet or flowery, yet has a very clean and open quality to it.

Its interesting given the size of the stick (pretty near to a quarter inch, think club, not stick đŸ™‚ ) that there is not that much smoke put out. However the room becomes rapidly refreshed in scent and “vibe” or how it feels. Given the write up at EoA this is what I was hoping for. I noticed in my own self that I felt calmer and more focused. Its not the kind of stick that would be an every day scent, well actually it might be depending on your lifestyle! It is however, something that I will have around for when needed.

-Ross

2 Comments

  1. marjolijn said,

    July 18, 2008 at 12:20 am

    some brands will be more truthful in ingredients.

  2. Mike said,

    June 23, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I’ve noticed that with about half of my Tibetan thick sticks that they often don’t put off nearly as much smoke as you’d think.

    There are other Agar 31 incenses, I know the Dhoop Factory has one I’ve always liked, but your comment about the agarwood on this one is encouragaing, as in Tibetan incense I’ve never noticed the same sort of notes I do in Japanese aloeswood incenses. And given how much I liked Shing Kham Kun Khyab, truly one of these best incenses for the price, this will be way up my want list next order. This monastery really does have good vibe incense.


Leave a Reply

