Mermade Magickal Arts / Earth Church, Heart Beat, Dark Goddess, Babylon

These are new offerings from Mermade Magickal Arts. They all come in glass veils with cork stoppers sealed with beeswax. There is enough incense in them for  easily 10-12 large burnings( really, you will find you get more then this) except for the Earth Church which has six large “wands”. I am quite sure by this point that these people are very fanatical about the quality of the ingredients and how they are made and there is a lot of R & D involved i each scent. Plus the price for what you are getting is extremely good.

Earth Church
These are thick sticks, about a ¼ inch wide by 2 ½ long. They are composed of finally ground woods and plants that together produce a lot of fairly sweet smelling smoke. Given the thickness of the stick you can count on quite a long burning time. It’s prefect for setting the up the energy or vib in an environment for metaphysical work or perhaps just to clean up the scent in a room. I am reminded of very sweet smelling campfires or of walking into a wood shop where many different types of woods have recently been cut. It’s a very fresh clean scent.

Heart Beat
As the name suggests, this is a very upbeat, vibrant and spicy incense. It is a sort of brick or chunk of material and needs to be heated up slowly, either on coal or in a heater.
It has a whole lot of resins and such: Oman and Hougary Frankincense, Rain Forest Elemi , Copals , Benzoin, Juniper EO, Sweet Grass EO, Cedar EO and wild crafted tips, Opopanax and Pinon Pine resin. It is really very lively and rich and the scent tend to change up as different parts ignite. It is packaged in a glass vial with extra ingredients surrounding the bricks. What this means is that you can heat just the bricks, the extra powders or any combination thereof. It’s great fun to experiment with. All in all, this is a very uplifting and rich incense which I find myself using quite a lot, Also, when used in the heater it does not produce smoke, or very little, which opens up possibilities for more people to enjoy the scent.

Dark Goddess
Another loose incense for coals or heater. The woods in this mix really stand out at first with a fresh forest scent. Then all the resins kick in and the scent gets much deeper and earthy. There are a lot of different aspects to this incense that keep it interesting, a huge play of different smells interacting with each other as well as the environment you are in. One of its ingredients is Salupati which is supposed to have “psychoactive properties”. I have not noticed anything of this nature but experimentation is still in progress 🙂 . Again, like the Heart Beat mentioned above, not much smoke is generated on the heater but quite a lot of great scent is. A small amount ( ¼ teaspoon) will pretty much give a very nice scent to a standard bedroom. This one is woods and earth tones as opposed to the spices and resins in Heart Beat.

Babylon
A Bakhoor style incense, Quite possibly one of the, if not the best, rose incense ever. I kid you not. This stuff is a light, clean, uplifting rose scent that gets help from the Aloeswood and Sandalwoods in the mix. I believe they help to lift the scent up and give it some exotic overtones. I have not been a big fan of the florals but this one opened up whole new vista’s to me. There are none of the off or synthetic scents that so many of the floral scents seem to come with. Really, it’s just a huge pure river of rose scent that just keeps coming. Plus one bottle will last quite a while; it does not take very much and you will find yourself gravitating back to it for that floral hit. Well, at least I do and I am generally an Aloeswood kind of guy 🙂  !

If you do not yet have a heater you can put these next to a coal on a bit of foil and you are in business!

-Ross

16 Comments

  1. clairsight said,

    August 24, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Hey Areeya:
    Glad to hear Mermade line works for you. One of the great things about this blog is getting to shear favorites and cool finds. I find myself using it many times a day myself. Since I am also really into Aloeswood I keep wondering what Katlyn could do with the resources of say, Baieido. Might be a very interesting cultural exchange for both parties, not to mention us 🙂
    One thing I notice about both Mermade and also Nu Essence is that they make it a point to use really high quality materials. This makes a huge difference in the final scent. Whats also nice is that since they are made in the US the price says reasonable. I will be doing a review of the new incense heater at Mermade late this week. iIn a nut shell, it is a really great deal!
    -ross

  2. areeya said,

    August 24, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Earth Church is definetely a new favorite of mine for clearing space, that leaves a clean, rich and soothing scent before, during and after it has been burnt. Dark Goddess feels like sweet earthy release to me. I burned it while I was live painting for some professional magicians and a young man commented that it was “perfect” for the space, one could let go and give what they had inside(Whoa!). But I have to say that Great Mother feels like it has all the richness of Deep Earth, Dark Goddess yet with a Hougary and cinnamon overtone that makes me swoon in festive comfort. It makes me feel like it is Yuletide or Christmas everyday. I have not figured out everything that is in it yet. I am looking forward to a long and adventurous road in exploring all of Mermade’s Line.

  3. Ross Urrere said,

    August 1, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Thanks for the warning. I just got the Nu Essense Line in (reviews comeing soon) They are really, really, really potent) so of course I used about a heavy 1/4 teaspoon in the heater. It was a bit too much of a good thing. It is really great stuff but moderation is an importent safty tip 🙂
    You live in a log house? How cool is that!

  4. Mark said,

    August 1, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    PS: I agree, it’s really cool to hear what other folks say about the same stuff I’m enjoying—in addition to being overwhelmed by amazing descriptions of things I haven’t tried, which of course makes me rush to my credit card 😉

  5. Mark said,

    August 1, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Ross,

    Looking forward to the starter set write-up.

    Go easy on Noora. I’d say one tablet or ‘cake’ is enough for 6 or 8 burns for me. I just use a knife to shave off a little each time. Am heating some right now, and there’s a sweet, candy smell I hadn’t noticed before. Am interested to hear what you think.

    Mark

  6. Ross Urrere said,

    August 1, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Mark
    Thanks for the tip on the Noora Bakhoor, I have some at home and will heat it up tonight. Feed back about incense is so cool. There is so much to try and sometimes one just doesn’t find out except through others, which, I gues is really th point of the blog 🙂
    We are sooting for next week to have the beginning starter sets up. Should be fun.

    -ross

  7. Mark said,

    August 1, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Just wanted to check back in and say that I’m really enjoying my order from Mermade. First, I’ll say that Katlyn is quite generous with samples, so it’s been a real pleasure to work my way through things I didn’t even know I was going to get!

    The heater is working marvelously. I’m still getting the hang of heat adjustment, and this particular metal heater does pack quite a punch. Most of the things I’ve tried seem to be best on a lower heat setting.

    I agree with Ross about the pleasures of Babylon. 🙂 I think the bakhoor styles lend themselves to the heaters, and this one is quite nice. I don’t really sense Babylon as pure essence of rose though. I definitely get rose, but it’s quite an exotic, faraway land rose, and not the typical rose from Mark’s garden. I think this is due to the lovely subtle aloeswood that accompanies the rose.

    I’ve also since tried Noora Bakhoor from Swiss Arabian (available from EotA). This one is exquisite on the heater. The combination of aloeswood, sandal and amber is truly right up my alley. This is one evocative and complex fragrance! There’s definitely a white floral of some sort in there as well–maybe jasmine or tuberose? Noora puts images of colored silk and gemstone inlaid temples in my head—but I have a very active imagination :-).

    Back to Mermade: Earth Church and Wildwood are both fabulous, wood-heavy scents. They’re truly just exhuberant in their wood resin character. Both have strong presences of both evergreen and hardwood, and both also have more exotic resin character from the frankincense, copals, etc. as well. They differ in that, to me, Earth Church has the herbal, grassy quality that I really love in some Tibetan incenses. Both are marvelous though. I live in a log home, and these two woodsy incenses just seem so appropriate here.

    Speaking of Tibetan, I used an old coffee grinder to grind a stick each of MT Tibetan Monastery and Himalayan Herbal before trying them on the heater. The Tibetan Monastery had a cloying funky vibe in the absence of smoke that I found rather unpleasant; however the Himalayan Herbal was a revelation! Pure sweet grass, mown hay and mint. It literally smelled like a freshly mown hay field on an autumn evening. I look forward to trying other, including high-end Tibetan powders on the heater.

    One last thing about Mermade, Katlyn makes a wonder natural perfume oil called Pantheon. She dropped a small sample in with my order, and I’ve since ordered more. It’s equally nice on skin as it is on the heater. I would describe it as a great bouquet of sweet but very subtle florals, woods, and spice that fades to a lingering earthy patchouli base. It also contains aloeswood. Lovely, lovely scent!

    Mark

  8. Ross said,

    July 29, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Hey Brenda
    Try the Wild Wood” loose mixture from Mermade. It is the essence of really strong, fresh forest. It is an amazing blend.
    -Ross

  9. Mark said,

    July 29, 2008 at 5:04 am

    Thanks Ross, I’d assumed as much and am looking forward to playing junior scientist myself! So many good Japanese sticks are such masterpieces as they are–balance, aroma, length of burn, amount of smoke, and ‘punch’. I’m excited to play with some of the Baiedo and Shoyeido loose mixes as well. Also had the idea of cutting up whole Tibetan sticks to try and maximize the herbal effect and minimize smoke indoors. I wonder how that will be?

    Hey Brenda! I was so excited when I found the new heater on Mermade’s site. It should arrive in the next day or so; I’ll let you know what I think. I’m anxious to try ‘Earth Church’ as well.

    Mark

  10. Brenda said,

    July 29, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Just YESTERDAY I was thinking about the heavenly smell of a campfire and wondering if I could find an incense like that. I’ll have to order this soon (along with the heater). Thanks for the heads-up on these products!

  11. Ross said,

    July 29, 2008 at 12:35 am

    When I have tried this I used about a third of a stick, broken up. It had much less “punch” then just burning it. However I seem to have collected up quite a few “nubs” at this point of kyara sticks so I might give them a go. Really, I find mixes like the Mermade stuff and resins/spice mixes that I make for myself to be better. I also just got in the Nu Essence collection and will be putting up reviews, probably starting next week.
    I really like the heater because its simple and spontanious, plus no clean up with the foils. I get to play junior incense chemist with my collection of resins and spices 🙂 ..its great fun!

  12. Mark said,

    July 28, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Hi Ross, yeah I did order lots of extra foils. So when heating just a regular Japanese incense stick on a heater, how do you go about it? Do you break the whole stick into pieces, use just a portion of the stick, or just use a small, rice grain sized piece (which seems like it would be too subtle)?

    Mark

  13. Ross said,

    July 28, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Hey Mark
    Please let us know how the heater works for you, it looks very cool and the price is great. I love my Shoyeido but the are times when I look at it wonder why it is priced so high. It does use a ceramic heating element and the wood body is very elegent, but still….

    Did you order the foils? They make things much simpler, plus they look very classy.
    -Ross

  14. Mark said,

    July 28, 2008 at 9:03 am

    I agree that Mermade has been great to deal with. I told them you sent me! 😉

    It might be worth giving a shoutout to the new electric incense warmer—complete with thermostat, that Mermade is now selling for $47. It’s from India, and it has a very nice stainless and wood design (not like the other cheap versions that have sort of a grandmotherly, potpourri burner look to me). The price is great; I sure hope it works well. I’ll report back once I’ve had a chance to use it. I hope it’s a nice (cheaper) alternative to the gorgeous Shoiedo heater. Here’s a link to Mermade’s heater:

    http://www.mermadearts.com/product_info.php?cPath=9&products_id=98

    Mark

  15. Ross said,

    July 27, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Hey Mark:
    I love these and the company in general. They are super nice and really into making their incense with the best possible ingredients.
    In fact I will be placing an order with them later this week for some of their newer things. 🙂

    Enjoy

  16. Mark said,

    July 27, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Ordered all these and more this morning Ross. I also grabbed a warmer from Mermade. I like the aesthetic of the one they’ve just starting carrying, and you can’t beat the price.

    Mark


Leave a Reply

