Incense Heater from Mermade Magickal

Mermade Magickal Arts has importeted a new Incense heater. It looks nice, is well made and best of all works really well. Its also very inexpensive.

There is a large dial (hard to see in the picture) on the backside of it which lets you fine tune the heat settings from off to very, very hot. Much hotter then my Shoyeido Wood Body ever gets. Once it gets to the dialed in temperature it holds there, sometimes cutting off and then coming back on again to stay pretty constant. It also has a large handle so that you can hold it while its on.

You need to exercise a little caution in that the upper part of the metal body does get pretty warm, but it is a heater after allΒ  πŸ™‚Β  . Comes with a large metal bowl for putting whatever you are heating up into. I would highly suggest lining this with foil for each run to keep things clean.

Because of the large range of temperatures available you can pretty much heat or burn whatever your heart or nose desires. If you are in the market for an electric heater i would have to say, for the price, this would be the way to go. Oh yes, I am personally going to be hooking mine up to a timer so I can use it at night when drifting off to sleep. The scent of a nice rose bakoor as I head into the astral planes, oh my!

-Ross

25 Comments

  1. Steve said,

    November 12, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Having had this burner for a year now, I have to say it was a good purchase. Once I got my power cord replaced, it has been a great little burner and has worked reliably.

    I have only one complaint (that I have just learned to live with) that I wonder if anyone else (Ross? Claire?) has noticed: when I first plug in the burner, it gets crazy hot. Regardless of the temperature control setting, the little bugger initially puts out some serious BTUs. If there is incense in the bowl at startup, it will be incinerated. After about 20 minutes, the burner seems to normalize and adjusts to the temperature set on the dial. At that point, I can add incense and the temp control responds well to the dial. Long story short, I gotta wait 20 minutes after plugging the burner in to add incense.

    Anyone else experience this?

    • Pinjie said,

      November 12, 2009 at 8:49 pm

      Hi, Steve,

      I’ve noticed the same problem, too, and I usually don’t have the patience to wait for twenty minutes. It’s a good idea, though and I should try it. Fortunately I burn mostly woods or Japanese granulated incense, both of which can take the initial high temperature well enough.

      Also the heater I bought from EofA doesn’t have the kind of socket design on the heater end that yours has; it’s just a cord coming out of the machine. I suppose it’s a better design since it stays on permanently. I was relieved when I received the heater and saw that I didn’t have to face the same socket problem you had.

      Thanks for all your posts. I read them all and find them very helpful. πŸ™‚

      Pinjie

    • Ross Urrere said,

      November 13, 2009 at 12:17 am

      I have not had that happen to mine. I always start with it just asbove the “on” point and then slowly work my way up.
      I am always on the look out for “gear” but there does not yet appear to be anything else even close to as good for the money. Which I find odd, I think a well designed unit at a reasonable price(like no more then $80-$100) would have the potentual to be the bases for a whole new level of room scents or aroma therapy.As it is now the unit from Mermade seems to be the best thing going. The aromatic vaporizer is pretty fun also. Deceptively “low tech” and nice looking to boot. Great for wood chips.

      • Steve said,

        November 14, 2009 at 11:21 am

        OK – Ross’ point about turning the burner on just above the “on” point then slowly working up is absolutely correct! The burner heats up quite gently and controllably that way. (Let the temperature adjust for a minute before turning up further – the trick is to be patient and adjust gradually.)

        I actually never realized by turning the dial counter-clockwise to 3 o’clock you could turn the burner off! 😳 I had always left the dial somewhere between 20 and 30 (a good all around temperature for what I burn) and just plugged or unplugged the burner to turn it on or off. Well, my old method is definitely NOT the way to go πŸ˜€ I think where someone (like me) could get confused is the “0” temperature setting is at 6 o’clock and, like I said earlier, the on/off point is at 3 o’clock. With the highest setting of 100 being just past 12 o’clock, it never occurred to me to turn the dial anywhere between 12 o’clock and 6 o’clock for fear of breaking the dial.

        Oh, and just had another “duh” moment – it actually says “Off” at the 3 o’clock position 😯 😳

        Ummmm, the letters were very very tiny πŸ˜†

        – Steve

      • glennjf said,

        June 6, 2010 at 5:28 am

        I’m waiting now for the same heater to arrive from the incense-man.co.uk. Far as i could discern that is the only place selling this Electric Incense Burner/Heater configured to operate using Australian 240V.

        I had been wondering if the “La Petite Wax Warmer” which is available both in Australia and the US might not be a contender of sorts? I didn’t get to see the La Petite in operation but I as it has a graduated temperature control and is thermostatically controlled, same as the Electric Incense Burner/Heater, it might perform in a similar way. Yet to be determined is whether it has as great a range of temperature variation. Has anyone reading this had any experience working with wax warmers, enough to proffer if this is a fair assumption for such a device?

        I will take it upon myself to make the extra effort to source one at a local retailer soon, simply to have a look at the thing and ask questions about it. If no one responds to this post, no problem, I will further post back to here about what I find out, at a future date.

        • glennjf said,

          June 12, 2010 at 3:29 am

          The Supreme Automatic Incense Burner, hereafter called the heater, has arrived here after winging its way to Australia from the United Kingdom. The packaging took a few hits during transit but the heater itself came through without incurring harm. All up it took 10 days to wing it’s way here.

          First thing I needed to do, after checking it over, was to change the electrical plug to an Australian one. Once that was done it fired up immediately and since then it hasn’t missed a beat. Please note, I am qualified for working with such wiring but my suggestion to others is if you are not qualified then you must get a licensed electrician to do the changeover for you. The UK wiring is a noticeably different to what is in general use in Australia. In this instance having it checked over by someone “in the know” should be taken for granted when taking receipt of electrical devices which are wired to suit another counties electrical standards.

          The only other thing that differs from the US version is the power cord. The UK sourced version is hardwired unlike the US version which has a detachable cord.

          Personal service…

          I asked after a sample of something to use with the heater so Adrian kindly added in four 20g sample packets of the Prinknash Abbey church incense resins, in this instance the Abbey, Basilicia, Catherdral and Vatican blends, thanks Adrian.

          Already I have been fairly amazed at just how effective the heater is at doing its work, all the incense resin blends have been positively amazing to experience when warmed by the device. They seem to last and last whereas I imagine they’d be up in smoke and gone almost instantly if they were used with on a charcoal tablet.

          For me otherwise putting the heater to use?

          I have for starters my collection of Japanese incense stubs I’ve been saving over the last six months. There’s a couple of worthy Japanese sample sticks I’ve been unhappy to simply burn completely at first sampling, after all, once they’re gone that’s going to be it for them. I’ll get extended use from them now plus I’ll get to an elevated experience of them sampling them using the heater.

          For woods I have a few grams of powdered Aloeswood and some Australian sandalwood as chips. There’s some Australian Cypress which was a flooring sample some of which I’ve made into chips, I’ve had these set aside while waiting for the heater to arrive.

          For resins I’ve small amounts each of Benzoin, Copal, Frankinsense and Myrrh.

          It’s a journey alright πŸ™‚

          I haven’t forgotten the La Petite Wax Warmer, it’s still on my list of things to investigate further.

          • glennjf said,

            June 13, 2010 at 9:10 pm

            Here’s my heater. You can see the hardwired cord exiting the housing, lower right of the photo.

          • glennjf said,

            August 16, 2010 at 5:38 pm

            update…

            Doesn’t look like I’ll be able to get to test a BeautyPro La Petite Wax Warmer or another of the BeautyPro range called the Wax Genie anytime soon. If you google “BeautyPro wax” then view images results you’ll get a general idea of the type of machines I’ve been pondering on, maybe someone knows someone who has something similar and can get to it to run a test?

            I still will keep it in my mind incase I see one as I get about the place here. I think the Genie would be one I’d try ahead of the La Petite since it’s smaller though not by much.

          • glennjf said,

            October 8, 2010 at 1:44 pm

            I sought mine from the UK thinking I needed one from a country with the same power setup as we have here but I now know I could have as easily purchased one from the States and used a travel power adapter plug instead of changing to power plug mine came with to an Australian plug.

  2. kathrine said,

    December 29, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Interesting Read! Very detailed blog.
    Thanks for sharing

  3. Steve said,

    November 2, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    LOL!

  4. clairsight said,

    November 2, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Soak the meats and incense in good bourbon!
    Or just light the Aloewood, drink the bourbon and start racin!..oh ..how unPC πŸ™‚

  5. Steve said,

    November 2, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Aloeswood, venison & racin’ – 😯

    What would you recommend for a tractor pull? πŸ˜€

    Steve

  6. clairsight said,

    November 2, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Glad you got it working!. The $8 fix is much better then the $300 for a new burner( plus the savings could go for more incense! ).
    Remember, a nice Aloeswood stick goes well with grilled game meats while watching Nascar πŸ™‚
    -Ross

  7. Steve said,

    November 2, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Ross – thank you so much for the detailed reply. The pros and cons were very helpful. In further research, it seems a couple of problems are possible with the cord on this product. The first I have heard of is the cord’s plug end being too large or slightly misshapen, thus preventing proper insertion into the burner socket. I have heard of success fixing this with a sharp knife and carefully tapering the ends of the plug to remove any possible obstructions. The problem with my plug was, however, not fixable – in my case, the female receptacles in the plug were simply not deep enough to seat fully on the metal pins in the burner socket. Also, the metal wrapping inside the female receptacles was inaccurately done, further retarding proper insertion of the burner’s socket pins. Hopefully this makes sense! At any rate, my unit was continually shorting out because proper, secure electrical contact could not be maintained by the faulty connection.

    After weighing my options, decided your thought about getting a replacement cord at Radio Shack seemed like the least expensive/highest possibility of success thing to do. As it turns out, part# 61-2876 from Radio Shack is a higher-quality replacement for the cord and works like a charm. The cord is heavier duty, the plug is well formed both inside and out, and fits very securely into the burner. It also has the UL certification label on it, for whatever that’s worth! It costs $7.99. My burner works much better now because it is not sporadically shorting out. Thanks for the suggestion – I doubt I would have thought of it and now I’m satisfied with my economical little burner! Of course, the seed has been planted for the $hoyeido πŸ˜€

    I live in Charlotte, NC. My parents (R.I.P.) used to live in San Diego, and I am continually envious of you and Mike living out there in California! You’re around Berkeley, correct? Or maybe that’s Mike. You guys get Zen centers, retreats and incense seminars. We get huntin’, Nascar and … well, I better stop before I offend someone πŸ˜€ Anyway, need to get back out to CA soon…

    Steve

  8. clairsight said,

    November 1, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Hello Steve
    Both have their pluses and minuses. The Shoyeido will easily do the Mermade offerings( in fact I was just using both my heaters about an hour ago to heat up some Aloe chips and Mermade blends). The one thing that bugs me about it (Shoyeido) is that, when set to high it will go up there, stay for awhile and then power off..then about 6-8 minutes later come back on, stay on about 5-8 and then the cycle repeats itself. I actually ran timed tests on the thing at different setting because I was convinced it was flawed, but Shoyeido US checked with the head office and were told it was operating as per design specs I think it is a safety feature. .I will see if I can dig up the emails and post the exact times/temps. So what this means is that sometimes it can be difficult to do wood chips. If you just want to warm things up it works great, but if you want smoke its difficult.
    It also only gets hot at the ceramic burner head, so the wood body, including the surrounding lip, stays cool. This makes holding the thing in a “koh” style possible.
    You might ask Mermade for another cord OR take the one you got to an electronics supply house or Radio Shack and get a replacement. Actually I think its kind of nice to have both because I find myself using them for different styles or situations, of course no one has ever accused me of being fugal or even sensible :). I still believe that the Mermade is the best deal for the money, but I also understand where you are coming from cause I go there all the time!
    Hope this helps, you can get my email from Mike if needed. What part of the world do you live in?
    -Ross

  9. Steve said,

    November 1, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Ross – I know you have both this heater (I believe it’s called the Supreme Automatic Incense Burner) and the top-of-the-line wood Shoyeido model. I know you’ve said the Supreme gets much hotter than the Shoyeido, but I wonder if you feel the Shoyeido is more than adequate to burn the offerings from Mermade Magickal and, say, something like Palo Santo chips. Having had the Supreme for a week or two now, I have found the loose power cord to be an absolute deal breaker (unfortunately, I don’t have a spare laying about) and while it has the ability to heat incense, it’s clearly a mediocre built product at best. It operates on major heat surges, then powering off – except in the case of mine, which powers off permanently because the power cord falls out repeatedly! 😯 I am going to pursue getting an exchange or refund.

    Anyway, since I have a low tolerance for poor craftsmanship – I would gladly pay the $350 for something that is elegant, reliable, and suited to its purpose. Any comment on the Shoyeido fitting the bill?

    Steve

  10. clairsight said,

    October 25, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    I noticed the same thing after awhile and found that I had one like it off of an old HP printer I was no longer using. It fits tightly. They are a pretty common cable, Radio Shack( or something like them) probably has them also.

  11. Steve said,

    October 25, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Ross, Mark or whomever has this heater who would like to comment – this heater has a removable power cord. My cord’s plug does not fit tightly into the socket on the burner body. It does make electrical contact, but doesn’t seem to seat very far in and has even fallen out on occasion if I move the heater. How tightly does your power cord plug into the heater socket? Does it feel like a secure connection? I’m wondering if I got a bum cord/socket and am considering either exchanging it or taking out the soldering iron and permanently connecting the power cord.

    Thanks in advance for any comments…

    Steve

  12. Steve said,

    October 24, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Received my heater yesterday – really is a great deal at less than $50 and variable temperature control. It opens up a whole new world of aroma exploration and I’ve spent the morning sampling a number of Mermade Magickal offerings on it (amazing stuff!) This thing seems very powerful – following the recommended settings initially, I incinerated samples of a couple of different items from Mermade 😯 at 30 – 40 then settled in on 20 as an apparent all-around good setting for now. You could cook the Thanksgiving turkey on this thing πŸ˜€ It appears this thing controls temperature by turning itself on and off. I imagine “on” is full power until the threshold temp is reached (as set by the dial) and the thing turns off until the temp drops below the threshold. The higher the dial setting, the more time the unit remains on. I don’t think it has true different power levels, say like a gas stovetop. Not that this is particularly important as this low-tech solution seems to work just fine. I don’t have the top-end Shoyeido heater, but I might guess if it truly has variable power-output temp control (vs on-off control), this might partially explain the $300 difference in price. Unless the wood aesthetics of the Shoyeido are important to you, this heater seems like the way to go!

    Steve

  13. Claire said,

    September 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I came across a temperature guide for one of these heaters once, it recommends starting at a low temperature and gradually increasing the temperature to the following:

    Mosquito repellent pads / mats: 0 – 10

    Fragrance oils (without added water): 10 – 20

    Soft incense gums / dhoops: 20 – 30

    Simmering granules: 20 – 50

    Powdered incense: 30 – 40

    Hard incense resins / dhoops: 40 – 70

    Fragrance oils (with added water): 40 – 70

    Dried herbs / flower petals: 50 – 70

    Wood chips / bark: 60 – 80

  14. Ross Urrere said,

    September 5, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Thanks Mark, the burst idea is smart and not something that occured to me.
    happy heating πŸ™‚

    -ross

  15. Mark said,

    September 5, 2008 at 4:53 am

    Thanks Ross, I was eager to hear your impressions of the heater. I love mine. It definitely has had a learning curve for me since it’s really quite powerful. I find that with aloeswood chips, especially good quality ones, it’s good to start with a burst of heat (mayibe on the 50-60 setting) for about 3 minutes. Then I turn it way down (15-20 setting) for a nice long ride. For most everything else, I tend 1) to go very sparing with amounts and 2) to hover around a low/med heat setting (around 20).

    Mark

  16. clairsight said,

    September 4, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Hello Jerry
    I now have both the Shoyeido and the Mermade. As far as I can tell the Mermade gets much hotter( if you want it to). As I said above there is a large temp control dial to tweak things with. It takes some getting used to as to what settings produce what heat.
    The price difference between the two is huge. If I was in the market and wanting a heater right now it would be very hard not to get the MM, unless it came down to the differnt looks between them and that was worth the extra $200 for the Shoyeido.

    -ross

  17. Jerry said,

    September 4, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Thanks for the review. I was just comparing heaters, and wondering how the MM heater compared to the much more expensive Shoyeido’s. Incense heater reviews are not exactly commonplace on the internet : )


Leave a Reply

