Administration, news etc.

We’re in a bit of a quiet phase here at ORS, at least outwardly, as time as been taken up for both Ross and I for different reasons. While I’ve meant to get some work up on the site, I haven’t had the right series of conditions for write ups, but hope (hope) to have at least one up by the end of the week.

I’m a little sad to note that Kotaro and Jay at Japan Incense have temporarily closed their “brick and mortar” store, having meant to visit in person the next time I’m in the bay area. I can only imagine the overhead in the Marina district must be very high, but do hope it returns as I’m sure anyone doing business with them will fully agree. We’d once again like to thank them for all their work in bringing lots of new incenses into the country and enriching our lives as a result. And as they’re still in operation as an internet store, we recommend dropping by.

I’m also delighted to announce that ORS is bringing on a new writer, Nancy Hyton! Nancy’s an acupuncturist and herbalist at the Center for Holistic Medicine, a new perspective on incense I think everyone will enjoy and appreciate. I should have her account up in the next few days and hand over the microphone at that point. I should also mention that we’re always open to new contributors here (we’re looking in particular for someone who’s good with Indian incense), so if you’re interested in joining the ORS team, please do contact me through the Review Information page on your right.

And more good news, it looks like we have the start of another incense-related blog here: http://synaesthesiae.blogspot.com/. With  the initial post on a visit to Shoyeido headquarters, this site is one to bookmark!

And a reminder to check over at Essence of the Ages, who is getting a number of new incenses. While there are a lot of NEW signs next to companies, don’t forget to check some of the standbys for new scents, I noticed new items in many of the old companys. We’re constantly amazed at Beth’s archaeological talent at digging up new scents and can imagine there’s some new gems in there.

6 Comments

  1. Mike said,

    October 14, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Yes, definitely get better Ross and Nancy (got your e-mail too). Pretty much any illness out there makes incense smell funny to me. 🙂 I managed to get some notes down this weekend, so I should have a coming soon post coming soon… 😀

  2. clairsight said,

    October 14, 2008 at 8:02 am

    Hey Nancy
    Don’t worry. Just get better. My nose is also having a tough time post surgery, nothing smells quite right yet. Time will heal it.
    -ross

  3. Nancy Hyton said,

    October 14, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Sorry I haven’t written anything yet. I’ve had this lingering dry cough for 2 weeks now. Unfortunately, incense smoke is currently aggravating my condition, making it impossible for me to burn anything. I’ll write as soon as I’m able to revisit my favorite scents without going into a coughing fit!

  4. Mike said,

    October 3, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Good to hear from you Ross and glad everything went well. Perhaps some of the pain medication will be inspiring lol.

  5. hmansion said,

    October 3, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Glad your surgery is over Ross and I wish you a speedy recovery.

    Steve

  6. Ross Urrere said,

    October 3, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Hello All
    Just got back from getting my new hip, everything went pretty smooth. I am hope, but not able to stay in my normal room situation, so my net access is a little quirky at the moment(barrowed computers).
    Nancy, glad you are here with us and really looking forward to seeing your writing.
    What with the knock out drugs and stuff, incense smells a bit odd right now but I hope to get a piece or two of writting in fairly soon.

    ross


Leave a Reply

