Chabana Aloeswood from Shorindo (Ross)

Chabana Aloeswood from Shorindo is a very nice offering in the world of Japanese incense and at around $10.00 for 50 sticks a pretty good deal. The Kohshi website lists it as having Aloeswood, Green Tea and flower scents. The Aloeswood is very apparent, suprisingly so at this price range( reminds me of Baieido in a way) and the Green Tea notes are also in there to me, but I have yet to get the flowers.  However, what I do pick up on is a nice blast of spiknard for that carrmal/butterscotch spice scent. The mix between  all these produces a really nice scent that slides back and forth between just slightly dry to the same on the sweet side. It’s interesting because it is very hard to pin down, which is what tends to draw one in.

Each time I have burned this with other people around they all have commented very favorably on it, which tends to make it a winner in my book. A great one to add to any order and a perfect gift for others or yourself!

-Ross

9 Comments

  1. paul w said,

    December 18, 2014 at 12:36 am

    bought this recently, a real treat, butterscotch top note, with a nice mellow background of woods, strong, but not overpowering, it sits well over time, and is great in late evening or even mornings. You won’t be let down on this one, excellent

  2. kimbola said,

    December 30, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    its a master piece for the price.

  3. drummagick said,

    October 20, 2012 at 5:46 am

    Out of all the incenses I have, Indian, Tibetan and a few Japanese, this one has the most comforting scent to me. Lately, I burn one almost every night as I’m getting ready to go to sleep.

  4. Janet said,

    December 20, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I’ve really liked the sweet woodiness of this one, and that’s how I filed it away in my mind…what a surprise, today, to first catch the lightest whiff of a soft, powdery floral right when I lit it, and then what Ross described – dry wood a la Baieido alternating with almost honeyed sweetness. Multi-dimensional and amazing for the price!

  5. Pinjie said,

    July 19, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Hi, Ross,

    I had to go to Japantown to get a roll after reading your review, and I’m not sorry at all that I did. I love it. It’s hard to believe that at $10 one can find Japanese incense this good. Thanks for the review!

    Pinjie

  6. Ross said,

    July 15, 2009 at 10:45 am

    It’s nice that one can still get good Japanese incencse at bargin prices. With aloeswood no less! In fact i have started to go back over a number of boxes and rolls that I have put aside just to rediscover them. Great fun.
    Sorry I missed you at Kohshi Robin. I really like being able to walk into the store and you know, all the stuff is there in frount of you, not virtual :). Plus Kotaro and Jay are very nice and like to talk about incense.
    One cool thing about going into the store is that there are definatly things in there that have not yey made it to the web site, all one has to do is ask.
    -Ross

  7. Robin Prothro said,

    July 15, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Hi Ross,
    I was in Kohshi a couple of weeks ago, apparently just after you left. I also purchased this incense and more than me, I found it pleasant, my friend loved it! I have enjoyed reading your postings and have become quite fond of Japanese incense.

  8. Mike said,

    July 15, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Thumbs up from me on this one too. At first I didn’t even think of it as a blend, just thought it was an aloeswood stick (I’d still say the other notes enhance the aloeswood rather than vice versa – as it should be). It also appears to be the first imported Shorindo blend that’s not “less smoke.”


Leave a Reply

