Upcoming…

Slowly working on a few things, but they’re coming together. Got a write up of two Baieido large coils in the works, slow going because I seem to find it hard to fit coils like this into my incense burning very often, but I did manage to burn off 3/4 of a Premium Junenko over the weekend when busy, thumbs up on this one, more details coming.

Also finally into my Purelands reviews, a few notes over a third of the way into the six scents. Mighty fine incenses these are and don’t want them to get lost in the Pure Incense flood of late especially when they’re not only comparable but slightly more affordable too.

Hope to roll out some Triloka reviews in September and we’ll be continuing the Fred Soll series through the end of the year (I think Ross has a group up next). I just got in a big batch of new Soll scents including a number of their Frankincense blends, but I think the one that really surprised me was the Happy Hemp which really doesn’t smell like your most recent Phish concert, but rather a slightly sagey and very pinon deep, green-ish incense. I also tried the Pure Incense Connoissuer Nepal Musk which reminded me a lot of the Blue Lotus, yet completely different, almost as if they share some similarities and then move in their own hue-like directions. I’ve tried the whole Connoissuer line except for the Frank, Jasmine and Sandalwood and have to say they all get big thumbs up from me, truly a line worthy of the name connoissuer.

Finally got to compare the Baieido Koh to the Sawayaka Kobunboku and indeed these two seem identical incenses to my nose as I thought I had read. This means my stock is fairly deep now, so I guess I’m glad I really love this stuff. I’ve also had the Tokusen Syokokkoku out again, right after finally getting to experience the long Hakusui roll, and for sure the former gets closer to the smell of the straight up Hakusui wood than its stick namesake. This wood just continues to amaze me and I really need to restock, it’s almost as if nature itself made a blend of its own right within the wood itself, deep, expansive and wonderfully spicy. If you ever wonder why a bunch of us aren’t quite so taken with the cultivated aloeswood, it may be due to this or the Ogurayama. As with many things quality reigns over quantity when it comes to aloeswood resin.

Also coming up eventually, a few more of the Nikhil mixed champas, a quartet more from Shrinivas, several Primo scents and depending on mood and whim some notes on a number of recently imported and often modern incenses from a number of smaller Japanese incense companies like Scents of Japan, Saraike Kunbutsudo, Shochikudo and others. And there’s a lot more really impressive scents on the ways to these shores too premature to announce at this point.

1 Comment

  1. Ross Urrere said,

    August 17, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Tokusen Syokokkoku really is amazing stuff with so many nuances that it always seems to present another level.


Leave a Reply

