Baieido Aromachology Series (Ensei) – Ross

There are 4 different blends in Baieido’s Aromachology series, which were designed to be used at specific times of the day. The Cinnamon Clove is for the mornings, Sandalwood for afternoons and the two different Aloeswoods ( Spicy and Sweet ) for the evening hours. Of course you can mix and match them up any way you want but the series was designed around the particular effects of each bled and how they would effect your mental and emotional states.

These are not super powerful scents, but rather work on more subtle levels, one can use them near others without “blowing them away”. They do, however, make use of some of the very best woods that Baieido has to offer and are designed to burn for around 25 minutes. Just the ticket for the lunch time break or while getting ready to go to work in the morning, not to mention the post work day glass of Scotch  🙂

Cinnamon Clove: This is a very nice blend geared for mornings and aligned to help invigorate one for the day. It is not nearly as strong as say, the Koh blend, it is a much more gentle approach. Nice use of the two spices plus some other helpers.

Sandalwood: This uses a very good Byakudan or Old Mountain Sandalwood. It has a really clean and pretty straight forward approach. It is very obvious that this is high grade wood and it has a very relaxing yet focusing effect when burned. The quality of the wood is very apparent.

Sweet Aloeswood: Having gotten to sample the Ogurayama sticks recently (as well as the straight wood chips) I am pretty sure that that is what produces the Aloeswood notes in this blend. The sweet Vietnamese is very captivating and centering in nature, just the thing at the end of the day. This is really good with a lot of depth but also a fine focus on the wood. Again, great quality materials.

Spicy Aloeswood: I am pretty sure that these sticks are built around the Hakusui Vietnamese woods. Hakusui seems to be a sort of standard against which many other Aloeswoods are judged, it seems to hold its own. It has a very refined and distinctive flavor to it, again very captivating. There is more then enough in this blend to get the point across, a bit more depth then the Sweet Aloeswood above. I personally find myself bouncing back and forth between the two, but that could well be the state of mind I am in at the end of a given  day 🙂

I think these could work as a great place to start in on Japanese incenses, especially if you worried about getting overwhelmed. They also work well in smaller spaces and the amount of smoke produced is lowish(which is not to say smokeless). The two Aloeswoods are a wonderful way to experience what are pretty much the standards of the industry and might be the best deals if for no other reason then that they hold such a unique place in incense scents and are not(that I am aware of) available like this in any other sticks.

6 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    February 6, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Hello! Has anyone tried the Baieido Ensei #647 Soft Aloeswood Incense? It is very different from the Sweet and Spicy; I don’t find it listed on the Oller.net Baieido site either (I got some from ebay). I would love to know what people think of it. Thanks!

  2. David Oller said,

    August 25, 2009 at 6:04 am

    I’ll have to talk to Kotaro about that, I’m always up for a trip to SF and still have a few friends there.

  3. Ross Urrere said,

    August 24, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Thanks David . I would love to attend a Kodo group, please let me know if any come to the Bay Area.

  4. David Oller said,

    August 24, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Hello Ross,

    You are correct about the aloeswoods, good nose, we’re going to have to get you to attend one of our Kodo groups!

    • Robert Green said,

      December 18, 2009 at 3:07 pm

      Pardon me gentlemen for butting into your conversation, but waht exactly is a Kodo group, and are there any up in the N.W. part of the country, like say in Washington state? I am building my Japanese incense collection steadily, and while it by no means is as large as my Indian collection, I find myself much more regularly drawn to the Japanese scents while my Indian collection is just sort of languishing as a sideshow anymore. I have a very sensative nose and greatly enjoy comparing notes with all of you at ORS to see how closely I stack up to your interpretations. Usually I am right on more or less and I find when I’m off a bit it is due to my lack of knowledge more than anything else. Another issue on my mind is that I want to learn more about Japanese Incense traditions and its’ ceremony. I am not Japanese, but I do want to pay my respects to the traditions and culture that has given me such a wonderful part of my life. I also think it could help me grow in understanding of the culture behind it as well. Thanks for your time, and I hope I was not too intrusive. Sincerely, Robert Green


Leave a Reply

