New Shroffs are in

Assuming you have any money left after Beth’s exhaustive 12 day sale, I want to let you all know that not only are the old Shroff Channabasappa scents restocked at Essence of the Ages, but there’s a whole group of new ones including what could be considered the first true Indian premium incenses to reach US shores, several whose prices are very close to Japanese ranges. As always comments and then reviews will be eventually forthcoming, although keeping up with this amazing company is proving to be quite difficult! But be aware many of these will move fast…

70 Comments

  1. Hamid said,

    January 1, 2010 at 11:16 am

    My wife was on call last night at our local hospital and had to go in during the evening. On her return several hours after I had burned a stick of Shamama Gold she immedately remarked on the ” wonderful” scent.

  2. Hamid said,

    January 1, 2010 at 10:52 am

    The Vanilla Balsam is indeed a lovely stick. I actually enjoy the sweetness of a good vanilla incense, Mystic Temple do a nice one, but this dryer style is also very pleasant and would probably have more long term appeal than the sweeter styles.

    • Mike said,

      January 4, 2010 at 10:47 am

      That Mystic Temple vanilla is that super common lavender stick durbar that shows up as Incense from India Honey Dust, Satya Natural, Bhakti Yoga Shanthi and many others. I think it may be the most common incense scent after Golden Champa/Sai flora and Nag Champa itself.

  3. Hamid said,

    December 31, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Wise to be cautious Maharani..
    I burned my second stick pf Shamama Gold today. Its just an extraordinary stick of incense, so dense and layered. I am full of admiration for its blenders. Its a work of art.

  4. Hamid said,

    December 31, 2009 at 2:06 am

    I am going to try a couple more sticks of the Rose Natural before making a definitive decision about liking them or not..as you say Mike with Shroff incenses in particular they can take some getting used to.

    Maharani, I noticed Mike said ” he” in context with a reference to you. Not that it matters at all, but I had assumed because of your name that you were a lady incense fan rather than a gentleman incense fan…..

    • Maharani said,

      December 31, 2009 at 8:45 am

      Yes, I noticed that too, and assumed it was a typo. I am indeed a “lady”……. No biggie, however. I do worry about giving away personal info on the net, hence my sobriquet-however I dare say my friends would know at once it was “me” on reading what I have written….

      • Mike said,

        January 4, 2010 at 10:42 am

        Well that serves me right for trying to rush a post during vacation, certainly this isn’t an error I’ll make again. Apologies for the mistake… Anyway I do want to mention there was no value judgement associated with my smoke comments, believe me a few seconds in my living room would convince anyone otherwise, I can certainly handle pretty vast amounts of smoke. My nephew made me put out a stick of the French Musk because it was stinging his eyes, even in a ventilated room, so I just wanted to sort of humorously mention it’s a level of smoke that might not work for everyone.

        • Maharani said,

          January 4, 2010 at 10:59 am

          No problem-I wasnt offended-sometimes its hard to communicate that in writing. I have burned a lot of it since and dont find it excessively smoky, but that is of course a personal thing. The scent is wonderful. Finally got caught up with Shroff Moonlight-another wonderful one!

          • Mike said,

            January 4, 2010 at 12:31 pm

            Good, I’m glad. πŸ™‚ Moonlight is indeed excellent.

  5. Mike said,

    December 30, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Hi everyone, checking in for a bit now that I have a little time before I’m out again for a few more days. I’ve spent a lot of time with the new Shroffs over the last week or so. I think Janet mentioned somewhere being confused over the new classifications and have to admit the same confusion, I think I may have purchased differently had I known the composition of the incenses. Well I get the two wet masalas, that makes sense. But the Natural group I think is divided down the middle, five charcoals and four wood-based incenses, both groups the first in the Shroff line. And the 7 new ones tagged to the end of the Base Masala group probably shouldn’t be there, after all the first 7 are mixed charcoals and none of the new 7 are, in fact they could probably go in the big first group no problem. Anyway I have notes and reviews planned for all but the last 7 starting next week, but here’s a few notes…

    The charcoals went 4 for 5 for me and those 4 are probably the best charcoals I’ve ever tried, totally clean, the base doesn’t interfere at all with the scent. I now think both the Sandal and Agar Wood are mindblowing, whatever oils used on them must be at a premium. At first the Sandal struck me as a great oil, but over half a stick I think they must be using some special grandfather tree oil or something as it has subnotes I’ve never witnessed before, it’s truly glorious (but like with the high Shoyeido premiums I can only really burn an inch or two at a time). The Agar Wood probably would have been better called Oud, as it’s definitely that sort of oil, way different from Japanese aloeswoods, but it’s astounding, to this day I don’t think I could even catalog the zillion notes coming off of it, it shifts and mutates as you burn it. I don’t have the time to go into Amir and Shamama Gold, but they’re superb, I agree with all the comments on the latter posted here so far, but they’re both too complex to capture in this format. The Herbal I think may be a disappointment, over a few sticks it just seems kind of faint, grassy and weird, but since we all know the power of Shroffs kicking in at a later date, who knows.

    3 for 4 on the woody Naturals. The Natural Masala may be the worst incense in the Shroff line, it’s like burning paper or a bad punk. Just can’t get into it. The other three are great though, like Rose, Patchouli and Vetivert bound in some sort of wood, the Vetivert in particular was just to my liking.

    The Wet Masalas are amazing, although the French Musk is so smoky and burns for such a long time I’m surprised Maharani can breathe in his bedroom. πŸ™‚ It is beautiful stuff though. The Saffron’s outstanding, beyond belief really with the strongest Saffron hit I’ve ever seen in an incense. Very very red. My favorite in the new batch outside the charcoals.

    In the last group of 7 my favorite is the Vanilla Balsam, which is really beautiful, nice and dry with just as much Balsam in the scent as the dry vanilla. I’m not even a huge vanilla fan really so I think this is an amazing creation. The Parivar and Palace Durbar are surprisingly indistinctive for Shroffs, similar to other durbar or champa incenses in other lines, although none I can think of quite off hand, I clearly need to spend more time with both. Hamid really grabbed the essence of the Night Queen, similar but different to the Jasmine and Mogra incenses, but better than both. Simple Flower’s kind of in the same range as well. The Sandal King and Sandal Special are both quite nice, the former being the better one, with that sort of spice I tend to like in my sandals.

    Anyway gotta go, will start rolling out reviews early next week. Hope everyone had/is having a great holiday.

    • Maharani said,

      December 30, 2009 at 2:00 pm

      Great quick summary but I HAVE to respond re French Musk-I only burn 1 stick at a time and dont find it excessively smoky-in fact Ive always loved watching the smoke from agarbathies curl and change in currents of air…. It is a long lasting stick, true, and the scent lingers…… Oh well-its obvious Ive a good tolerance for smoke (tho a lifelong non-smoker).

      • Janet said,

        December 30, 2009 at 3:16 pm

        I’ve got a lot of smoke-and-scent tolerance, too. Haven’t tried my French Musk yet, though….
        ok, I can go with “grassy and weird” for the Herbal – I can’t remember its relative strength – I guess I found it more, well….herbal than grassy, but it was pretty strange – I def thought it was worth coming back for, but I only burned one stick.
        I wish I could afford the charcoal Sandalwood…or that it was sold by the stick!

  6. Hamid said,

    December 30, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Thanks for that Maharani.

    Parivar by Shroff. Wonderful huge honeyed aroma. Superb stick. Reminds me a lot of Pureland’s Rasa Leela..

  7. Hamid said,

    December 30, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    The Night Queen is beautiful. To my nose it is Jasmine like. Muti noted deep and sultry.

    • Maharani said,

      December 30, 2009 at 12:45 pm

      FYI for anyone who is interested: Night Queen is a literal translation of Raat-ki-Rani, the Indian name for night scented jasmine (Cestrum nocturnum). Mogra is a different jasmine, Nyctanthes sambac.

  8. Hamid said,

    December 30, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Just a quick note on the new, new Shroffs.
    So far I have tried four, I have others yet to try.
    To get the negatives over with first, at the moment I do not care for the Rose Natural. It seems strange to talk about an incense this way..but I dont get it. It seems to me to have no rose scent at all. Just a slight woody smell. Also I positively dislike the Palace Durbar, Its just not to my taste at all, it may be a good example of its type, but at the moment I dont like it.
    The Sandal King is lovely. A rich complex sandal with a resinous, almost piney note. I am still getting to know it but I like it a lot.
    The Shamama Gold ( which is what it says on my pack rather than ShamaNa Gold )… well frankly it needs descriptive powers beyond mine to do it justice. Suffice it to say that it is a glorious incense stick and I await Mike and/or Ross’s reviews to give some idea of its complexity.

    • Maharani said,

      December 30, 2009 at 10:34 am

      Apropos of Hamid’s feedback, I must concur with his description of Shamama Gold: it IS amazing!! It is basically “woody” but very rich and complex-even the scent of the unlit stick is beautiful, and interestingly, slightly different from the scent when it is lit.

      Another amazing incense is French Musk, which rather to my surprise I am becoming addicted to and chain-burning in my bedroom. It puts out a very sweet, almost coconutty but not, scent-I have not yet been able to parse it into its components, and not having had a lot of experience of musk based incense have no reference point. The scent lingers in a room for a long time, but never gets stale-just remains a delightfully sweet perfume in the air. The last week or so i have really enjoyed going in and out of my bedroom. As I am burning bakhoor in my office, my house smells different in different rooms, which is nice.

      I ordered Vetiver of which I have burned one stick: what I can say at this point is it is “dryer” than the other vetivers I have tried (HEM, Vinasons) or my recollection of vetiver root, which she-who-always-complains-about-cheap-incense occasionally purchases in India. I will need to burn a few more sticks before I get a real sense of it. I like the Vetiver perfume made by Guerlain, which has a citrus note that the incense doesnt have-again it is woodier. As vetiver is a root this is perhaps not surprising. On the other hand, a lemony note really complements it. In fine, a slightly different take on this scent, as might be expected from Shroff.

      • Janet said,

        December 30, 2009 at 11:10 am

        I concur that this is the driest, woodiest vetiver I have tried – in my mind it was drier, but comparable, to the Vinason’s, while being an entirely different take than the sweeter durbar types or the khus that Jivada does (I suspect the pure-incense version will also be in this category).
        Ditto the Patchouli – very unlike the green patchouli sticks, very dry and woody, with a strong earthy subtone..the only one I have tried that was even similar was a essential oil-based stick from Auroshikha, but even that one had a bit of additional sweetness. I’ve only burned one stick so far, and I really like it….but I am a true patchouli lover, and very much like the dark and earthy notes as well as some of the greener, sweeter ones.

        At risk of sounding derivative – the Shamama Gold is amazing – strong, complex, and deserving of many burnings, as well as experience and descriptive powers I don’t have, before a description is attempted! There is a rich floral aroma here, as well, that is incredibly well-integrated with all the other notes….this one is NOT a lightweight, to be sure!
        I like the Rose Natural, perhaps because the rose scent is so mild and sometimes even takes a back seat to the woodiness….but it built up in the room over time, without becoming overtly perfumey or overwhelming.
        The Herbal is one I will have to try again – very deep and resinous and unlike anything I have tried – almost “foreign” smelling, unfamiliar yet compelling.
        The Saffron scent in that stick will knock your socks off – nothing else I’ve tried even comes close.

  9. Janet said,

    December 23, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Well, I’ve given at least a trial sniff to:
    Shamana Gold, Rose Natural, Herbal, Saffron, Patchouli, Vetiver…with Masala Natural, French Musk, and Amir still to go!
    I’m a bit confused by all the different categorizations…
    but – WOW!
    I’m loving these ones right off, more so than I did the Soft Masalas when they came out.

    • clairsight said,

      December 24, 2009 at 2:02 am

      I have a few coming in tomorrow, plus a 20 pack of the Soll’s Benzion (which has been discontinued). I await the postman with great expectations!
      -Ross

      • Maharani said,

        December 24, 2009 at 8:29 am

        Mine to have arrived: so far Ive tried Vetiver, Shamama Gold and French Musk, Moonlight still to go and doing a number of experiments with bakhoors so lots of feedback after the Christmas holiday!

        • Anne said,

          December 30, 2009 at 10:07 pm

          Well, my package from EOTA arrived today πŸ™‚ . As I write this, I’m burning a stick of Shroff’s Night Queen. It’s everything that Hamid and everyone else said and more. It’s like jasmine, but upped ten fold. It’s glorious, and has notes of honey, vanilla and I’m getting whiffs of… amber? I should preface this by stating that I seem to be coming down with a head cold – just my luck, my huge order of incenses arrive, and I’m getting sinus congestion…

          Anyway, is it just me, but does anyone else seem to be getting these notes? Incidentally, for those of you that like jasmine scents, you will absolutely *love* Night Queen. This is definitely a shroff to put on the “must buy” list, if you like florals.

          • Maharani said,

            December 31, 2009 at 8:53 am

            I will get in line then: I love both the Shroff Jasmine 1940 and the Mogra. Night Queen has always been a favorite and in any case is always a popular choice in India. Gosh, what a feast! I have one girlfriend I’ve been discussing my new obsession with and she rags me about it, but we agree, incense is an innocent and affordable pleasure, does no harm, and opens up a world of discussion and interesting cultural detail.

  10. Maharani said,

    December 18, 2009 at 8:54 am

    When I was in London, she-who-always-complains-about-cheap-incense and I ordered 3 different incenses from Jivada. Today I followed up with her on their impact. Alas, she didnt like them at all and said they gave her a headache. I told you she was picky…… On the other hand she continues to rave about the Shroffs, so I will keep her stocked up with them. Im pleased she likes SOMETHING as she is terribly difficult to buy a gift for.

    I revealed I had sent her some Hougary Frankincence for Xmas-she was very pleased and is looking forward to driving demons from the street……. They better watch out is all I can say.

  11. Mike said,

    December 15, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Looks like they’re already going quick, sell outs on the 100g Akash Ganga and the 25g 505 Amber 1882 so far… (have to claim a unit of responsibility on the former)

  12. Janet said,

    December 11, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Okay, I lied….
    Just for the sake of accuracy, I ordered both of the wet masalas and all of the naturals except for the Agar and the Sandal. I didn’t even make it down to the base masala line!!!
    I didn’t even *see* the base masala line – I was too busy agonizing over whether I could justify the Agarwood incense…looking at my cart….deciding not….and purchasing before I changed my mind!
    So I will be very interested to hear about those, as well as the two super premium naturals.

    • Maharani said,

      December 11, 2009 at 7:51 am

      Same here! I was so busy agonizing whether to order Amir or Shamana Gold I entirely forgot the Palace Durbar and Parivar……..

      • Janet said,

        December 11, 2009 at 12:00 pm

        Maharani,
        If you want me to throw a stick of Amir your way, I’d be happy to.
        Or whichever of the line I got – I’m so bad at waiting, I don’t even want anyone else to have to! πŸ˜‰

        • Anne said,

          December 11, 2009 at 1:27 pm

          Hey Janet,

          Glad to hear that you bit the bullet and got yourself a heater. Now, I foresee resins and bakhoors are likely to be popping up in your future shopping lists… πŸ˜‰

          As for the shroffs, I agonized over the vast array of choices, too. However, I just couldn’t justify spending more on incense. I already went crazy and got a ton of stuff. I got so much that I don’t need to buy anymore incense for the next year (and maybe even the one after that, too!).

          Anyway, these are the shroffs that I got: Amber Rose, Pearl, Moonlight, French Musk, Patchouli, Rose Natural, and Night Queen.

          BTW, just wondering, but did anything ever come from the direct trade/swap discussion that we had a while back? Last I heard, Laurie was going to look into a Livejournal or Bulletin Board setup for this. It would be great if we could get something like that up and running soon as that with all the recent purchases that we’ve made, a direct trade or swap would be beneficial. We could get to try some of the incenses that we wanted to buy, but passed on due to budget constraints.

          Anyway, just throwing this out there again.

          • Mike said,

            December 11, 2009 at 1:30 pm

            I’ll let Laurie jump in before I do anything, but maybe it’s time I started up a yahoo list for ORS for this purpose. I’ve mostly been hesitant because I’d still like the general incense discussion to be on the blog where anyone can see it, but perhaps it’s time for a trading group.

            • Anne said,

              December 13, 2009 at 7:30 am

              Mike,

              I’m halfway through my morning cup of coffee at the moment, so forgive me if this doesn’t make much sense, but how does this idea grab you:

              1) People who are interested in a direct incense swap/trade state their interest in this thread.

              2) They submit their address info (personal home address or work address) in an email to you.

              3) You then create a document containing the contact info of everyone that is interested in the direct incense swap, and then email it out to the appropriate people. This means that everyone that is interested in the direct trade will have each other’s contact information. I believe that the current incense trading circle operates like this, no?

              4) You create a separate forum for this direct trade or we could even use the current ‘Incense Trading’ forum. People could then post what incenses they own and what they would like to swap them for. Ex: Poster A says that he has such and such and would be willing to swap some of it for this and that…etc. Poster B then responds and says she’s got the incenses that Poster A is looking for, and they go ahead and do a swap.

              5) Hopefully Posters A and B will write a mini-review of the incenses they got in their swap on the blog.

              The advantage of doing it this way is that the incense discussion is likely to stay on this blog, and doesn’t migrate to another place. The downside is that this creates more work for you, and perhaps given your work and personal obligations, something that you don’t want to do – which would be perfectly understandable, of course.

              Anyway, this is just an idea. If you choose to go with another option, that’s fine, obviously.

              • Mike said,

                December 15, 2009 at 8:46 am

                Appreciate the idea Anne and it’s a fine one. I’m not sure it would fly on my end though, I think for something like that to work, the coordinator would have to be better at getting to e-mails than I am. πŸ˜€ If I spend a lot of time on the machine during the day, by the time I get to the evening, I usually don’t even want to look at a computer and so I’m almost at my limit just trying to get articles up. I do like the emphasis on keeping discussion here very much though and who knows, maybe someone here would be interested in being the coordinator for something like this.

          • Janet said,

            December 11, 2009 at 9:14 pm

            “Future” shopping lists, anne?
            πŸ™‚
            Let’s just say I’ve gotten a start already…I haven’t bought any bakhoors yet, but I have some resins and wood chips that I’ve saved for this day, and I added some granulated incense samplers and a couple of Nu Essences to my heater order!
            After all, I need to make it earn its keep, right?
            I wonder how long those Shroffs will take? Beth told me today that she had a couple hundred orders to get out!
            I’m glad her sale went well.

            • Anne said,

              December 13, 2009 at 7:40 am

              Janet,

              The heater is likely going to make you *want* to go out and buy more incenses. As if you already didn’t want to do that, anyway…;)

              Your comment abou Nu Essences made me remember that I actually have 4 of them and haven’t used them very much at all. So many incenses, so little time… :D. Anyhow, I put some of Nu Essences’ Pan on the heater last night, and it was lovely! It reminded me of Mermade’s Pan’s Earth, which is delightful, but Nu Essences’ Pan has a slight floral undertone, and there seems to be more of a herbaceous element, too. Both incenses are very good, and you can’t go wrong with either of them. Though of course, Pan’s Earth is meant to be burnt straight up and wasn’t meant for a heater.

              • janet said,

                December 28, 2009 at 2:16 pm

                I wavered between the Nu Essence Pan and Earth…since Pan’s Earth is a favorite of mine…I finally landed on the side of the Earth blend, as the Pan had rose, lavender, and rosemary (the floral and herbs you mentioned, sounds like) – which sounded lovely, but I decided to go for the hardcore stuff πŸ™‚
                The Earth looks just like dirt in the can, and also has a similar scent to Pan’s Earth, but….well – earthier, with the Mermade having a slightly more woody/resinous note, and a touch of evergreen scent. I’d love to hear your impressions of the other Nu Essences, when you get to them, as there hasn’t been a whole lot of discussion about them here, and there are so many.

                • Mike said,

                  January 4, 2010 at 10:35 am

                  You know, I just dug the Nu Essence Pan out when doing some heater and charcoal burning yesterday. Man but does that have a major vetivert hit to it! Great stuff. I really need to revisit more of that line soon…

        • Maharani said,

          December 11, 2009 at 7:27 pm

          That’s so kind of you! I can probably order some in a couple of weeks, but if not, I may take you up on your offer!

  13. Hamid said,

    December 11, 2009 at 2:30 am

    Wow Mike, you are my incense hero ! Cant wait to read your reviews.

    Janet , I have ordered , off the top of my head Shamana Gold, Sandal King, Rose Natural and Paravar, I dont remember the rest. I am waiting for Mike to review THAT sandal…I hope Beth has some left at that point.

    Maharani, two saturdays ago we had lunch at Gifto’s Lahore Karahi in Southall. And very nice too..

    • Maharani said,

      December 11, 2009 at 6:29 am

      Hamid,

      I grew up on Southall Broadway and return annually……. There is a fabulous Afghan restaurant there:

      Kabul Restaurant
      Inside Himalaya Shopping Centre
      65-67 The Broadway
      First Floor
      Southall
      Middlesex UB1 1JY
      Tel: 020 8571 68 78
      Fax: 020 8813 87 53

      Email: info@kabulrestaurant.co.uk

      Sorry this is off topic but I love the food there. It is true the clientele resembles Mujahideen, but food is what they are serious about….jokes apart it has a nice ambience too.

      • Hamid said,

        December 11, 2009 at 9:46 am

        By coincidence I read a rave review of the Kabul just a couple of days ago. I know where it is. The multi story car park is just around the corner. We will have to give it a go. Thanks Maharani. I suppose spiced food is not TOO off topic..

        • Maharani said,

          December 11, 2009 at 10:00 am

          The mantou are to die for…… Not too off topic-many of the same spices end up in food as well as incense.

          • Mike said,

            December 11, 2009 at 10:14 am

            Not to worry about off topic guys, chat away if you’d like. Tangents are perfectly acceptable…

            • Maharani said,

              December 12, 2009 at 6:46 am

              Thank you!-but I personally will TRY to stay somewhat ON topic-or at least not digress too much. I saw one blog utterly ruined by off-topic monomaniacs…. such that it was finally shut down. I guess the internet is still evolving.

    • janet said,

      December 28, 2009 at 2:16 pm

      Hamid,
      You’re *my* rose hero!
      I’d love to hear from you about the new Shroff Rose.

  14. Hamid said,

    December 10, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Brilliant Maharani., where did you buy the dhoop you mentioned ?

    • Maharani said,

      December 10, 2009 at 7:19 pm

      Hamid,

      I bought the dhoop (Sital, Amber Flora), in a big grocery store in Southall…..

  15. Hamid said,

    December 10, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I wonder who of us will be first to order the new Sandal ………..

    • Mike said,

      December 10, 2009 at 2:32 pm

      I went “one of each” Hamid πŸ˜€ However I’m not totally sure I’ll be talking about them until at least January at this point, so hopefully this thread will suffice for everyone’s comments.

      • Janet said,

        December 10, 2009 at 8:35 pm

        Will you be informally commenting, Mike? Because I bought one of everything EXCEPT the agar and sandalwoods…i just couldn’t this time, I spent a fortune during the sale…& I will be dying to hear something!

        • Maharani said,

          December 10, 2009 at 8:37 pm

          SOOOO envious! Am on a budget-cash only-can only imagine buying one of everything!! Do enjoy!

          • Janet said,

            December 10, 2009 at 8:50 pm

            Maharani and Hamid,
            Which do you plan to order?
            We will all definitely have to compare notes until the reviews come out!

            • Maharani said,

              December 10, 2009 at 9:29 pm

              Moonlight, saffron, shamana gold, vetivert, palace durbar, parivar, appeal to me at the moment. I also need to replenish red sandal and green durbar. Wish I could afford the agarwood…..

            • Maharani said,

              December 11, 2009 at 7:13 am

              Well, I did the deed! I ordered moonlight, Shamana Gold, vetiver, and musk. I also ordered the bakhoor warmer that is on sale at EOTA and the Beit al-Arab bakhoor-a large order for me, dollar wise. Still-it is Xmas. I am looking forward very much to trying all of these out, and it is nice to have some Shroffs still to try-if they dont all get bought up. Any idea how long orders will take, given the Xmas sales? Next order is Hougary Frank for She-who-always-complains-about-cheap-incense……

        • Mike said,

          December 10, 2009 at 9:23 pm

          Hi Janet – I’ll be taking the last two weeks of December off and probably won’t be posting much if at all during that period. I’m not sure when everything is shipping yet because of all the Essence sales. But if I get everything with some time to spare I’ll be sure to throw in some comments about the premium Sandal and Agar Wood before the holidays (after all I’m terribly curious about these) and then I’m sure I’ll have lots to talk about when I get back in early January. Actual reviews are probably still a ways off though, I still have two batches left from the last order and will be working on one of them pretty soon. Shroff’s a tough company to keep up with!

  16. Hamid said,

    December 10, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I am off to order some new Shroffs…

  17. Maharani said,

    December 10, 2009 at 7:39 am

    I still have to wait till payday (tomorrow) but will put in an order right away.

    I had an idea-I will inquire as to whether Shroff are planning to manufacture extruded incense. The reason is I just tried the Sital dhoop I bought in London-it smells OK-review coming up- but the interesting part is it is MUCH less smoky than old fashioned dhoop-it is thinner for starters. If Shroff created a thin dhoop with one of their premium scents it would rather resemble the Japanese styles, and please better those who can neither tolerate smoke nor the bamboo cores. Yet it would still be “Indian”, in its scent profile and its dhoop ancestry. Am I not brilliant?

    • Steve said,

      December 10, 2009 at 8:12 am

      Maharani – I actually think you are brilliant! I wonder if it’s more expensive (i.e. labor intensive) to make extruded vs bamboo-core…

      • Maharani said,

        December 10, 2009 at 8:18 am

        Thank you!

        I dont know, but I would guess they might need an extruder, and how much that would cost would be the question. It might actually be cheaper and less labor intensive, actually. However, were I Shroff I would do both styles, as incense rolling is a craft in itself, keeps people employed, and should be kept going-I like traditional agarbathies for themselves, but I also like extruded types.

        If Shroff did a thin dhoop-style incense, it would also be ideal for burning on a warmer, like a bakhoor. Maybe they could do incense pellets in the bakhoor style as well.

        • Janet said,

          December 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm

          The only thing I can offer here is that there is one line, sold by Sensia, that makes both bamboo and extruded incense versions of the same scents…they don’t list package weights, only stick counts, so it’s hard to get an exact comparison, but the Indian version comes in a package of 20 with a 45 minute burn time for 7.95. The Japanese version comes in a box of 40 with a 25 minute burn time for 16.50. So the Japanese of this line is sold for quite a bit more…inexact, I know.

    • Anne said,

      December 28, 2009 at 8:09 am

      Maharani (and everybody else, too) check this link out for an indian/japanese style dhoop:

      http://www.incensehq.com/catalog.php/incensehq/dt18408/pd248792/Joie_Ethnic__Nag_Champa

      The only one that Incense HQ still has available is the nag champa one, the others are either sold out or unavailable at this time. Alas, this is another retailer that only ships to the USA, so myself and other international readers are out of luck in terms of possibly purchasing this. Anyway, if anyone ends up getting this, report back with a review! I’m curious as to how this indian/japanese hybrid smells.

  18. Masha said,

    December 9, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    So exciting, I put my order in as soon as I heard the news. Now I’ll finally get to try Pearl, and the new patch and vetivert incense as well. Hurray for Channabasappa! I also found that removing the incense from the bamboo stick, and gently heating it on a heater, makko trail, or low-setting stove makes the aromas sing even more beautifully. I don’t like bamboo smoke, so this has solved the problem for me. Doesn’t take much time to remove the stick, either. OK, I’m an incense geek, but who isn’t on this blog??

    • Mike said,

      December 10, 2009 at 8:25 am

      Nice idea Masha!

    • Ross urrere said,

      December 10, 2009 at 10:32 am

      Good one Masha, something I will try this evening
      thanks _Ross

  19. Mike said,

    December 9, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    My main thought with the new Shroffs is, if they can make an under $10 box of incense smell like a million bucks, what are the recent more premium scents going to smell like? I sure can’t wait to find out. And I hope you’ll share your impressions with us too Anne!

    Excellent call on the heater. I’m still motoring my old Shoyeido porcelain, but I recommend anyone who can afford a heater to pick one of the sale heaters up, in many ways it’s not only the pinnacle of incense appreciation but it means you can share it with your smoke-wary friends too.

  20. Anne said,

    December 9, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Well, I went and placed my last order for the Shroffs and some other stuff. Boy, just when I thought I was done shopping at EOTA, Beth pulls me back in with one last great sale!

    Since I had spent so much already, I didn’t order as many shroffs as I would have wanted. However, given that I’ve got some incredible goodies and some Pure-Incense too, I can’t really complain.

    And for those of you that haven’t already checked out EOTA’s last great sale of 2009, electrical incense heaters are on sale, too. So if you’ve been on the fence about purchasing one, now is probably the time to bite this particular bullet and go ahead and get one. This month, the heater comes with a free 50 sheet packet of foils, a pair of tweezers, and a sample packet of palto santo wood.

    I purchased another heater for use at my office at work. I think I’ll bring in some of my Duggal Al Oud Ward Taifi and enliven my colleagues’ senses with the fresh scent of roses. πŸ™‚

    • Janet said,

      December 11, 2009 at 11:02 am

      You did it to me again, Anne….I bit!
      A new heater for my “new” house!

      • Anne said,

        December 28, 2009 at 8:25 am

        Janet – and everyone else, of course – I’m back to enable you yet again! I posted this info in the review your retailer forum, but I think not everyone checks out that subforum as much as the main page, so I’m posting this info here, too (hope you don’t mind, Mike).

        For the USA based readers/posters here, you may want to check out the 50% off sale going on at the Fifth Sense – http://www.thefifthsense.com/. Everything is reduced by 50% off, even burners, charcoal, ash…etc. They had some good stock, but a lot of it is sold out; however, there are still some goodies there left to be purchased. BTW, when it comes to incense, the Fifth Sense sells only japanese incense. Also, they currently only ship within the United States.

        For those of you that are not yet broke from holiday shopping (and the EOTA 12 days of Xmas sale), you may want to check out this sale. Happy Shopping, everyone! πŸ˜‰

        • janet said,

          December 28, 2009 at 2:28 pm

          Oh, you enabled just fine yesterday, Anne – with a little help from Pinjie, who passed your posting along to me!
          So, thanks for following up, but you already got me yesterday!
          And, all joking aside, I appreciate the information – 50 percent off is a wonderful thing!
          I managed to grab some Horin Tenpyo, which I have been coveting….

          • Anne said,

            December 28, 2009 at 9:07 pm

            Janet, you and I may share some similar tastes in incense. I was (and still am) coveting the Horin Tenpyo, too. I’m glad you were able to benefit from the tip, because a 50% off sale is a glorious thing, indeed!

            As I said in my other post, I’m conflicted about the Fifth Sense’s shipping policies. On one hand, my wallet really does appreciate that it’s not going to get another work out. On the other, I *still* want to get some of those incenses, particularly as they are currently at half price. Ah well, like I said, it’s probably for the best. I can see myself going crazy, and going on another buying spree.

    • Maharani said,

      December 15, 2009 at 8:35 am

      Has anyone tried the “car incense burner” advertised on Paradise Perfumes? This would seem perfect for the office…..though I can tell you if I tried it, my assistant would file a complaint with HR……


Leave a Reply

