Baieido Kyara Kokoh (Ross)

I was recently the recipient of a few of the 3.5 inch sticks of Baieido’s Kyara Kokoh. This is a dream come true and something I have been longing to sample since the first time I saw a picture of the box at Essence of the Ages (bottom of the page). The overall style is something way North of  Koh Shi Boku in strength, maybe along the lines of the Kyara in the Anniversary Set; or as David Oller once wrote, like Jinko Kokoh, but with Kyara.  It is the closest thing I have experienced to tasting a Kyara chip in a koh cup, but in  stick form.

Everything about the scent is the ultimate in multi leveled refinement, subtlety, and quality. Even the spices that play a pretty minor roll are obviously of the best quality and used to get the most out of the Kyara. There is a very slight note of clove and cassia and possibly one of the benzoin’s that makes for a stunning, slightly sweet  taste. Also somewhat along the lines of Kunsho’s Cambodian style, but really in a class all by itself.

I do not believe there is any “one best” incense, however,  for sure this is at the absolute top of the pyramid with only a few others and they might change around, to me this one is staying. OK, its time to splurge on another centimeter or two  🙂

I sent Mike a stick so I am hoping he will chime in, if we really get lucky David Oller might have a few words  to offer(please) -Ross

4 Comments

  1. David Oller said,

    March 19, 2010 at 6:36 am

    Ross, let me know in advance of your going and I’ll try to make that happen for you. David

  2. Ross said,

    March 18, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Thanks David, someday I hope to get to Japan and see the factory and meet some of the makers.

  3. David Oller said,

    March 17, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Well Ross, mostly I’m jealous. Just because you sell something doesn’t mean you can afford it. Rosanne Tartaro and I did split a box once. It has been a few years. Wonderful to hear both of your descriptions and I don’t know I could add much to your descriptions. I can tell you that everything about the making of this incense is old style, the kyara is selected the non resinous parts are culled away and only the premium resin veins are hand crushed, along with each ingredient selected by hand. It is made in a small area of the Sakai facility with the simplest tool entirely by hand.

  4. Mike said,

    March 15, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Well you know what the say about the expensive ones, if you like em you’re a snob. 😉 So yeah in this case, that label will have to stick because this is truly one of the best incenses I’ve ever experienced in my life, it’s ridiculous in price and in scent. It’s the the Koh Shi Boku scent cranked up to 11 and the resulting aroma is almost like a living entity. Comparisons with the regular Jinko Kokoh, already a favorite but far more affordable, are quite fair in terms of complexity, but with Baieido’s green kyara in play it’s really on its own level. In the end it makes you wonder about the woods that don’t make it to the marketplace – you apparently do get what you pay for. I don’t know if I could add much more to Ross’s fine appraisal except, again, thanks for the sample 🙂 I’m cherishing it nanometer by nanometer!


Leave a Reply

