And Now for Something Completely Different…

A Review of Air Sponge – The Odor Absorber

The ORS is dedicated to finding and reviewing the best incenses and letting our readers know about them. Incense can be a great way to refreshen a room, change the atmosphere, or mask unpleasant odors. However, sometimes strong scents or even scents of any kind are undesirable. Be it incense that you don’t particularly care for, burnt food, or your teenager’s unkempt stale smelling bedroom, or your husband’s musty old gymbag…etc. There are areas and/or rooms (i.e. the bathroom) that can require a neutralizing agent, where odor is removed.

Air Sponge is an odor neutralizer. It’s a great little product that comes in 8 oz (227 grams) round plastic containers. It can be used anywhere, and can remove virtually any odor. The write-up on the container states that it absorbs and removes odors caused by tobacco smoke, cooking odors, pet smells, paint fumes, cleaning solvents, detergents, wet carpets, fire damage, locker rooms, gasoline, sewer gases, mildew, and decay. Air Sponge is biodegradable too, and resembles poppy seeds encased in turquoise blue putty or play-doh. It won’t win any beauty contests that’s for sure, but then again, it wasn’t made for its looks, but for its ability to neutralize odor.

I’ve been using Air Sponge for months, and I do recommend the product. In the wintertime, my little apartment can get stuffy and smokey due to the various incenses that I’ve been burning. Opening the windows and letting fresh air in can be problematic as that it lets out the warm air, too. And with heating costs rising, opening up windows in the winter can be cost prohibitive. Similarly in the summertime, if you’re using an air conditioner, opening up the windows will let the cool air out and the warm air in! Therefore, if you need to neutralize odor and are unable to open your windows to let fresh air in and circulate in your home, then Air Sponge can be a nifty product to have on hand. It’s very simple to use, all you do is crack open the container, remove the lid, and place the Air Sponge in the area in which you want odors to be neutralized. Incidentally, one Air Sponge can cover an area of up to 300 square feet. Note that Air Sponge emits a faint floral soapy scent, rather reminiscent of Ivory or Jergens soap. The scent quickly fades, though.

There is also an Air Sponge spray, which comes in a 118 ml bottle. The spray works instantly, whereas the round containers of Air Sponge can take a little while to kick in. For example, if you badly burn food, and want to remove the burnt aroma right away, the spray is the better option to use.

Air Sponge is an American made product that is available in North America. It can be purchased in hardware stores, Walmart, Zellers, and even local grocery stores (look for it in the cleaning products aisle).  If you are outside North America, you can purchase Air Sponge online. Go to: http://www.airsponge.net/

Best,

Anne

9 Comments

  1. Anne said,

    May 1, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Hi Carrie,

    Glad to hear that your mildew/mold aroma problem was cleared up by Air Sponge. Though I can’t help but wonder that if your apartment bldg is that old, and if there was moldy aroma underneath the kitchen sink, then perhaps there’s mold in other areas of the bldg as well? Mold isn’t just a bad scent problem, but a potential respitory one as well. Anyway, just something to bear in mind, should you discover more mold/mildew issues. If you do, my suggestion isn’t to buy more Air Sponge, but to move out of the bldg!

    Best,

    Anne

  2. Carrie said,

    April 30, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    I moved into a 1940s 4-plex last September and under the kitchen sink had this mildew/moldy smell that NOTHING was helping. I sprayed bleach, Lysol, put extra strength air fresheners under there, sprinkled various essential oils.

    I saw this review and ordered some and it really does work! Under the sink smells like nothing now!

    Now I need to order some spray to refresh the apartment, because I tend to burn one incense after another and can’t always air the place out in between.

  3. Julie said,

    July 22, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    I will have to look for that!

  4. glennjf said,

    July 22, 2010 at 5:07 am

    Botheration! No knives! I was really hoping…

    😉

    I can see how the Air Sponge will be a very welcome addition for folks, especially under the circumstances you’ve described. For me it’s still early days for my forays into incenses and as yet I’ve not found myself wanting or needing a change of air but I imagine there’ll come a day. Funnily enough lately I’ve been enjoying telling people that I leave home now only for long enough so I can return refreshed enough to be able to breath in and appreciate the amazing aroma with which this place is currently filled 🙂

    Although it’s winter here it’s mild winter weather, the doors and windows here are usually open throughout the day providing a lot of airflow. On the other hand a friend who lives down the south of the country (Victoria) has much colder days and nights to contend with. The Air Sponge could help there for sure, sorting the tobacco smoke odor since he’s a smoker. Now there’s a scent I don’t enjoy much these inhaling these days since having some good luck back in 1997 with throwing the durries away after puffing away heavily for many years. I’m far happier breathing incense now than I ever was when I used to spend time entertaining the nicotine genie 🙂

    • glennjf said,

      September 9, 2010 at 12:26 pm

      Since my previous (July 22, 2010) comment, my friend has managed to stop smoking after years of trying. Result, I sent him some samples of Japanese incenses and he was able to smell them, excellent development.

      It’s the 10th day of the 2010 spring in Australia though already it’s shaping up more like summer. The place here will be even more opened up than it was in winter however I think I’m gaining more of Anne’s understanding about the need to neutralize odor. I get it now. I’m hoping the extra airing of this place will help up my ability to get a closer appreciation of the incenses I already have, if not then I know what I can do to sort things.

  5. Ross said,

    July 21, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    This is great Anne. I have had the experience of burning a stick that just didn’t work for me and then trying another stick to try and neutralize it, usually to no avail. This sounds much better and I really like that it absorbs rather then putting out more scent. Thanks!

    • Anne said,

      July 22, 2010 at 4:29 am

      Hi Ross,

      I had a similar experience recently. I burnt an incense that I really, really, did not care for at all. I put out the incense and whipped out the Air Sponge spray and spritzed it around. The spray also has that faint soapy scent, but it was far preferable to that unpleasant incense, and more importantly the soap scent quickly fades, and the odor absorbing power of Air Sponge kicks in and neutralizes odor. The Air Sponge spray, unlike other air freshners doesn’t have a scent that lingers and lingers.

      Since I burn a lot of incense, I whip out the Air Sponges in between burnings, it clears the air, and helps remove scent cross contimination. 🙂

  6. glennjf said,

    July 21, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I shouldn’t but… Does it come with a set of steak knives? 😉

    • Anne said,

      July 22, 2010 at 4:16 am

      Glenn,

      Why yes, it does come with a set of steak knives. And if you purchase more than $75 worth of product, you’ll get a complimentary cutlery set, which has a retail value of $30.

      I’m kidding, of course. 🙂

      No comps on this, but the real bonus is the product itself – it’s biodegrable, environmentally friendly, and works really well. For those of us that burn a lot of incenses, Air Sponge can be used as a “pallette cleanser” of sorts, clearing the air of scent and readying the air for the next course (there’ll be less scent cross contimination).


Leave a Reply

