new Shroffs

Essence has about a dozen new Shroff formulas in. I just got in my batch and thought I’d create a thread to discuss them. Any comments? I have to say I’m a little bit disappointed with the ones I’ve tried although there are a few I haven’t that seem promising (particularly the Basil Amber). Of the ones I’ve tried, I liked the Chypre although it seemed to be pretty similar to one or both of their durbars (Green/Parrot Green). I should probably add that reviews for these are probably a long ways off, I’m fairly behind of late.

10 Comments

  1. Hamid said,

    October 22, 2010 at 6:14 am

    Hmmmmm…I like the Rose , which reminds me strongly of the Auroville Cottage Industry Rose..In a blindfold test I am not sure I could tell them apart. As to the rest, early days, but I am wondering if Shroff has decided to market a line in incense for people who dont actually like incense. Subtle does not cover it with some of them..I had to look to see if they had gone out..But as I say, early days.

    • Hamid said,

      October 26, 2010 at 8:23 am

      On the new Shroffs, I am beginning to make more sense of them..although some still strike me as virtually interchangeable and very “quiet.” I like the Basil Amber and the Nargis I think that’s narcissus isnt it Maharani ? I am still unsure about the Chypre but that could change. I like the Cedar….pencils and hops ( as in beer ).

      • Mike said,

        October 26, 2010 at 9:57 am

        A couple of them (the Nagarmotha comes to mind) remind me of the natural scents like the Patchouli or Vetivert, like the scent is mostly embedded in wood powder. I’m really having trouble with a couple of them, for example the Sachet I just can’t figure out what it’s trying to do. I also think the relative weakness of scents in some of them don’t justify the price hike.

  2. maharani said,

    October 17, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I like both the cedar and the chypre, particularly the latter, which reminds me of Bandit by Robert Piguet-an oakmoss incense with a sweet note. I also like Nagarmotha/kapoor kachari, nargis natural, but need to think about them a bit more in order to write in detail. THey all see rather gentle, but interesting for all that. Mogra as always a GREAT pleasure!

    • Mike said,

      October 18, 2010 at 10:50 am

      The Chypre is really good, after a few sticks I’ve really grown to love it. I like the Basil Amber a lot as well, although it’s almost functionally an air clearing sort of incense, the basil oil in particular is very strong. I also really like the White Bathi which is a thick stick, sandal/other wood incense that’s pretty close to the Tibetan scents. The others I’m still working on but none have really leapt out at me yet.

  3. Masha said,

    October 14, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    I bought Paneer for the second time, and Narghis 1930 (I think that’s the correct name). The Paneer has a different label, but is a lovely as ever, and I’m really enjoying the Narghis. Didn’t try any of the new ones.

  4. Hamid said,

    October 14, 2010 at 7:45 am

    I am still awaiting mine…two possibly contradictory thoughts strike me..the first being that i have wondered for a while if Shroffs quest for sheer diversity would eventually affect quality. The second being that there are not a few Shroffs that I have started off not liking, and then been won over by.

    • Mike said,

      October 14, 2010 at 11:50 am

      Good point that there’s lots of Shroffs worth growing into (and at least before I review these I should have plenty of time to do so). One thing I’d like to see with them is a rearrangement of their subcategories. For example, moving all the main charcoal bases under one.

      Anyway on a more positive note, I’m really digging the Akash Ganga.

  5. Janet said,

    October 14, 2010 at 7:25 am

    I just got mine yesterday, lit a stick of the basil amber last night and then got pulled away…so the only impression I got was that it wasn’t quite what I expected…it seemed pretty strong and not as sweet as I was guessing. I think I ended up getting about half, mostly those that didn’t have something overtly floral in the name. Which have you tried?

    • Mike said,

      October 14, 2010 at 7:43 am

      I tried the Nagarmotha, which reminded me of one or two of the Natural line and I found it difficult to get a sense of what it was trying to accomplish. Ditto to the Sachet Bathi. The White Bathi was bizarre, almost Tibetan in a pungent way mixed in with what seemed like a decent sandalwood. Mentioned the Chypre. The Kapoor Kacheri didn’t leave much of an impression on me, too little personality. Kind of wondering if I was having a bad night at this point. 🙂


Leave a Reply

