Mermade Magickal Ever Green Forest, Eastern Temple & Kyphi 2011

Three new loose mixture incenses from Mermade Magickal Arts

All of these are best used on an electric incense heater and that is also how they have been reviewed. You could use a charcoal, but really, you would be cheating yourself. Mermade sells a great heater at a very reasonable price.

Ever Green Forest: Elemi, Hougary Frankincense, Copal Blanco, Lodgepole and Pinion Pine Resin blended with Cedar tips (wild crafted) , Himalyan Juniper, Grand Fir and Port Orford Cedar, Fir Balsam and Cedar oil.

This is the greenest of green. A full emersion in a pine and cedar forest when the mornings mist has cleared away and the sun has come out. Fresh, strong and very clean. You only need to use a little in an electric heater to scent a room. It has a stimulating and at the same time grounding quality to it, which combined with the scent is a  pretty unique combination in incense not to mention any room scent I have come across. It is also completely natural and of the highest quality. Something that Mermaid is well known for. Just the thing to lifts ones spirits up on a winter day.

Eastern Temple: Premium grade Sandalwood – Ground Emperors Agarwood – Hougary Frankincense- Port Orford cedar wood – Hinoki Wood Essential oil- Powdered Star Anise and Cardamom from Sri Lanka:

This also is a fairly strong one, with a very deep Sandalwood/Agarwood base. Riding over this is a sort of  Japanese and Indian spice mixture that has a slightly sweet side to it. Lots of lift in this mix and some great silage, it really spreads out nicely and does a fine job of infusing a room. Given the spice mixture there is also a hint of a cinnamon like scent moving through. I think of this one as having a rather elegant and at the same time approachable scent to it. This is in no way a “potpourri” or “Christmas” style blend ( I suppose it could be, but it would be a stretch) Its name does a very good job of describing the scent.

Kyphi 2011: Hougary Frankincense, Yemeni Myrrh, Labdanum, Persian Galbanum, Turkish Storax, Chios Mastic, African Omumbiri resin, , Juniper Berries, Honey, Wine and other sacred spices, woods and resins

Kyphi is one of the oldest recorded incenses, its formula (well at least one version) has been found on Egyptian Temple walls. One of its hall marks is the length of time it requires to properly compound and produce this incense. There is also quite a lot of maturing time involved. This is not something one throws together on a Friday night for sale over the weekend. Mermades version has a long history which you can read about in earlier posts. This particular offering really has it all, a very deep sultry base with some lighter, almost sweet herbal/spice notes across the top. I think the addition of the African Omumbiri resin adds to the overall scent by giving it even more depth then last years, which was pretty amazing in itself. There is no one predominate note in this, the aging process has done a wonderful job of fusing all the different aspects into a perfectly unified work of aromatic art.

Enjoy -Ross

9 Comments

  1. June 11, 2011 at 2:03 am

    Thanks Ross!

  2. February 22, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    It is very nice to hear that the incense has given benefit and pleasure to folks.
    Thanks…

  3. Christian said,

    February 19, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Ever Green Forest got me through a very difficult holiday season in 2011 (Seasonal Affect Disorder compounded with the loss of a life partner). It is expansive, magical, grounding and all the other things Ross mentioned. Highly recommend.

    I recently purchased but have not yet used the Kyphi. Today is cold and rainy, I have a stack of library books to read so today will be a perfect day.

    I must also mention Katlyn’s exquisite perfume oils. I sampled two and was utterly wowed by the depth and complexity of her blends.

    For the past few years I have been purchasing samples and products from Katlyn (great sampling program!) so I must say how wonderful to see this purveryor of very fine off the beaten path scents get some mention here!

  4. February 19, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    The Evergreen was created for Winter holidays for my friends, but everyone enjoyed it so much I made up more for Mermade. Like Ross said, it like a fresh forest, invigorating.

    A note to Nature Sprite Fans (the little triangles) I will be making more this spring. If fact Dreaming Lotus and Spirit Temple and a new Jasmine based blend are on the way. Pans Earth is here again and I love this batch, less patchouli . These are just so time consuming to make I have gotten behind.

    Question for readers…(is that ok?) Is their interest in the Brazilian sticks with Palo Santo or Ayahuasca (Vine of Dreams) ? I need to re-order and I wondered if folks enjoyed them this year?

    • clairsight said,

      February 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm

      Hi Katlyn
      It is great to have you chime in, wish more of the incense makers we write up would do tthis. Yes, its OK to ask and I am way behing on my reviews and the Brazilians are about a week or so from done.
      -ross

    • Gary said,

      February 21, 2011 at 5:35 pm

      Hey Katlyn;
      Cipo dos Sonhos is a regular here. It is very special and unique. Is it a part of ayahausca? I really couldn’t find too much about it.
      I liked the Palo Santo a lot, but my wife didn’t, so there you go. To be honest, Fenix was my least favorite. It always reminded me of a new age bookstore from the 70’s.

    • Christian said,

      February 23, 2011 at 9:00 pm

      I did not care for the Brazilian sticks. Far too smoky for even my large living room and the scent was (to me) nothing special. I prefer your blends.

  5. February 19, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Thanks Ross, I appreciate your wonderful descriptions…You are always so kind.
    The Kyphi took a whole year to cure this time, but last night I cut and rolled the last of it. It is the perfect consistency and fragrance meld I believe. The African canarium Omumbiri seems to work well and is the closed thing I can find to the ingredient in the ancient formulas. I believe that Nathaniel had the same idea. We were very lucky to get it through our friend Sophia in south Africa. A woman of beauty and great knowledge of the bontanicals.

    For those who are serious about ancient Egyptian fragrance check out the book “Sacred Luxuries” by Mannichee. A wonderful source and beautifully illustrated book, it is right up there with the book on “Frankincense of Oman” Both are mentioned in the articles section of the Mermade site for more info.

  6. Lisa BTB said,

    February 19, 2011 at 5:02 am

    I’m a fairly new fan of Mermade and I’m so glad to read these reviews. Each one sounds lovely. Ever Green Forest will definitely be in my next order. I’m intrigued by the Kyphi 2011 with Omumbiri.


Leave a Reply

