New Shroff thread

There’s 10 new Shroff incenses in at Essence of Ages and I’ve finally got my hands on them. I’ve tried three so far and I’d have to say based on these three that this batch is likely to be mostly nag champa variants, in fact a lot of what I’m smelling reminds me of Shrinivas in their better days. I’ve always wondered if there was halmaddi in Shroff incenses, with these it doesn’t seem like there’s any question. The issue, as was often the case with Shrinivas, is that distinctiveness tends to suffer a little bit and none of the three I tried really popped out at me. The three I tried were Yatra (good), Pride (decent) and Yogi Bouquet (best of the three). I don’t think I could describe any of them all that well yet. I’ll post further impressions in comments as I check them out and hope you all do as well…

16 Comments

  1. Mike said,

    September 28, 2011 at 11:19 am

    I’ve got the first review of several Shroff incenses typed up. These are the poorer incenses from three batches ago. It should air on Friday or Monday.

    I have to say this new batch though is one of the best, I just love them more and more. Raj Yoga for example has this oil I remember from the old days of incense, it’s true deja vu for me. The Orange Blossom is just beautiful like one of those orange cream popsicles done champa style. Apsara, Sugandhi Mantri, Tapasya, Pride and Yogi Bouquet are all starting to become favorites. In fact I really love just how subtly brilliant all these are, none of them were obvious with just one stick.

    • vinny said,

      October 1, 2011 at 2:25 am

      EOTA took of the page where it lists the notes of new shroffs , could you list what notes are in the Pride , Raj Yogi , and Sughanda Mantri. Thanks , I am really looking forward to your review of the newer Shroffs.

      • Mike said,

        October 1, 2011 at 9:14 am

        Vinny shouldn’t you be directing that question to EOTA?

        • vinny said,

          October 1, 2011 at 6:16 pm

          I did email , I didnt get a response , plus this blog is apart of EOTA, so thats common sense , I would come here to ask.

          • Mike said,

            October 1, 2011 at 6:27 pm

            Well there’s the misunderstanding, we’re independent from EOTA.

          • vinny said,

            October 1, 2011 at 7:09 pm

            plus you always have the inside scoop on how they smell , thats why also :). I guess they must be busy and thats fine , I just wanted to order some on Sunday night , as I will be travelling on business later.

  2. vinny said,

    September 25, 2011 at 4:29 am

    Mike , I am about to make my quarterly incense purchases , I have tried and mothers Shanti , and am curious about Shroff’s Paneer , Pride, Ruby so If it was a battle of batches between Mothers Vishnu and 100g of Shanti vs Shroffs Paneer ,Pride ,and Ruby which one would you pick .

    • Mike said,

      September 26, 2011 at 9:15 am

      Honestly it looks like a tie. Paneer’s maybe the only one in those two groups I’m not as excited about. if you switch it out with one of the other new Shroffs you might tilt that group to the buy column.

  3. Ted said,

    September 16, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    I’m looking forward to the reviews. I’ve really taken to Indian incense, and my first order is getting pretty low. I absolutely love the Jungle Prince. I don’t have the vocabulary to describe it, but there is a unique depth that reminds me of some of the Japanese aloeswoods that I’ve tried. Are than any other similar incenses you’d recommend?

    • Mike said,

      September 19, 2011 at 7:21 am

      The reviews on this batch will probably not be forthcoming any time soon, my issue these days isn’t testing and noting on incenses but finding the time to get the articles typed up. But I will say that I think this is a good batch overall. It’s just that in other batches I’ve had a few favorites, with this one I like all the scents about the same (although at this point the muskiness of Pride is making it a favorite and the Orange Blossom is really quite nice).

      I can’t think of anything similar to Jungle Prince off hand, although I’d certainly suggest checking out the Pride.

  4. Mike said,

    September 15, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Last night I tried another Pride, which I’m really starting to like now. Suganha Mantri is also excellent and I had another stick of Tapasya. The thing about all these incenses, though, is they’re so insular. Where the last batch came out of the mail almost yelling to grab your attention, it’s like this is a bunch of scents trying to hide their magic from you as long as they can. Oh I also tried the Holy, which was the one incense not in the soft masala group, and didn’t care for it too much. Unfortunately it seems like Shroff has run out of ideas in the drier ranges.

  5. Vinny said,

    September 14, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Mike how does the Shroff Woods smell like ?? Not the little woods , thats sold out and there is no review for Woods , so I was curious . Also is there any incense you know which would be similar to the old divine flora ????
    Also could you review the rest of the new Shroffs

    • Mike said,

      September 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm

      Vinny, all the Shroffs will be reviewed in due time, just keep your eye out. Woods isn’t any good, in fact that batch that came in before the one with Little Woods hasn’t been reviewed yet largely because most of that batch is pretty terrible. Lots of extremely cheap wood incenses with harsh bitter notes. In fact most of them are already priced to discontinue.

  6. Mike said,

    September 14, 2011 at 7:26 am

    OK, I tried a second stick of Pride and thought it was much better, it’s possible I just lit the first one and didn’t pay as much attention as I thought. One thing about a lot of these incenses is the musk content, it’s very similar in scent to the French Musk, sweet and crystally. I also tried Tapasya which I thought had a nice woody sandalwood oil through the center. I think it’s likely there are going to be some sleepers in this group, I just think that with a batch that seems high in sandalwood and musk in most of the incenses, it will take some time to sort them out.

  7. Kevan said,

    September 13, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I’m going to wait for the review before buying them. There are just too many new ones this time to make a comfortable “blind buy” choice. I hope they are different thematically than the last batch.

  8. Maharani said,

    September 13, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Ive bought Pride, Orangeblossom, Apsara and Raj Yoga. Will post more in detail but can say at this point: I liked them all. The main notes in order are clear musk top note, with the other 2 less evident in Pride, nice orangeblossom, Apsara is a spicy floral in tune with the name (Apsaras are nymphs)-Raj Yoga a development of Chypre but more complex. They seem lighter than the first few rounds of new Shroffs, but nice nonethless. I like the Chypre style a lot as I enjoy Chype perfumes, quite new to me and interesting


Leave a Reply

