Lamb’s Breath Incense by Aluwwah

When I think of lambs I think of sweet, gentle, soft, unhurried animals with fleecy white coats, kind, dark eyes and moist, glistening noses. They are small yet sturdy, soft and tractable, fluffy yet compact and very content and sociable. Aluwwah’s Lamb’s Breath incense has many of the same traits. It’s sweet and warm and makes me want to bury my nose in it’s deep, floeuve-y fuzziness. It exudes a moist thickness that feels very embracing and cuddly, and a strong ambery goldeness makes it smell as though it glows. The thing that gets me most, though, is that it’s an unusual blend- I’ve never smelled anything quite like it. It’s sweet without being cloying, resinous without being sticky and spicy without being sharp. It’s a balanced blend of florals, woods, earth and spices- one in which each note retains it’s unique identity yet the blend is far more than a sum of its ingredients.
Smelling this comfy blend makes me feel very relaxed so I’m going to guess it contains a high grade of sandalwood; vanilla may account for a portion of its sweetness; a downy, powdery fluffiness could be musk, and a sweet, dry spiciness, (patchouli?), makes the herbal aspect seem alive and vital. I smell an almost mineral, metallic zinginess that’s so shimmery it’s fizzy. A rich moistness and licorice-y succulence make me think of toffee-colored tobacco leaves that are juicy and squeezable, and an elusive floral delicacy brings to mind a newly-formed blossom opening its first, pristine petals . The earthy scent of henna completes the composition and a cedar-like dryness prevents it from ever becoming overpowering or heavy.
Aluwaah’s Lamb’s Breath would be a lovely compliment to a bowl filled with pomanders, or an arrangement of pine boughs and bayberries. Grab a glass of mulled wine, flock around the hearth and light up some Lamb’s Breath to usher in the New Year! May each of you have a Happy and Dream-fulfilling 2012, replete with much joy, love, beauty, hope and, of course, many intoxicating moments adrift in your favorite incenses and perfumes!

14 Comments

  1. Epidoc said,

    December 19, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Marian, thanks for a lovely description. I finally received Lamb’s breath – will be trying some tonight. Do you suggest using an incense heater?

    • Marian said,

      December 19, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      I burned it on very low heat using an electric burner. The scent changes a lot over the time it burns.

  2. Lars Olav said,

    December 19, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    I really love your description of it, Marian.
    You are really poetic.
    It seems really interesting, and I will be ordering some after new year.

    • Marian said,

      December 19, 2011 at 2:26 pm

      Thank you so much, Lars.
      I put some in gauze bag in my bureau drawer. I’m surprised how much I can smell it, every time open the drawer 🙂 It doesn’t scent the clothes a lot but it scents the air in the drawer a lot.

  3. Gregg King said,

    December 18, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Good job, Simon, you got another well deserved review, at least I hope so, as what you sent is still being frisked by those pesky customs “Homeland Security” people who put their green tape on everything you send me 🙂 Since I have already discussed the contents of this mix with you, I guess you won’t mind me revealing them here. Nah, better not, as I want more soon. Simon can also be reached on Basenotes as abubakr_al-misky, whew, that’s a tough one.

  4. julie said,

    December 18, 2011 at 11:55 am

    How did you go about ordering it? (it sounds wonderful)

  5. Alan said,

    December 18, 2011 at 1:33 am

    Metallic zinginess that’s so shimmery it’s fizzy..!
    Thanks Marian..I could use some of that..

    • Marian said,

      December 18, 2011 at 1:37 am

      I think I know what you mean 🙂 I can’t believe the holidays aren’t even here yet and already I’m feeling tuckered out. These days it’s almost like a battle just to walk down the avenue!
      I hope you get your zing back quickly and that 2012 brings you some rest and relaxation, if that’s what you need 🙂

  6. December 18, 2011 at 1:19 am

    Well, with that lovely description I guess I must try it! I look forward to getting my first order from Aluwaah soon. Can anyone tell me what Aluwaah means, it is a wonderful evocative word.

    • Marian said,

      December 18, 2011 at 1:35 am

      Thanks,Katlyn. I’m embarrassed to say that I’ve forgotten what Aluwwah means. Hopefully one of the Arabic speakers will translate. I hope you enjoy what you’ve ordered! They make some very nice mukhallats as well, although in very small quantities.

    • Marian said,

      December 19, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      Katlyn- I asked Abubakr the meaning of Aluuwah and he said it’s “the specific kind of oud used for scenting”. I’m glad you asked 🙂
      Thanks!

  7. clairsight said,

    December 18, 2011 at 1:09 am

    Great write up Marian, just ordered some 🙂

    • Marian said,

      December 18, 2011 at 1:34 am

      Thanks, Ross. I feel like I now know how cats feel when they smell catnip 🙂


Leave a Reply

