New from Mermade

Recently got a box of samples from Mermade, which is always a treat. There was a selection of some of the new frankincense’s that have come in as well as some new blends.

Light Green Frankincense: This one has a really nice lemony scent to it, very clean, slightly sweet and very good. It has been awhile since anything of this caliber has been on the market in the US, nice to have it back.

Green Frankincense – Superior/Oman: Stunning, clear, almost glass like, green tear drops that, when heated produce a beautiful lime scent. Have never smelled any resin like this one before and consider it one of the best frankincense’s ever.

Black Frankincense, Boswellia Sacra: This one is unique, it has an distinct orange scent with a hint of orange flower mixed in that really caught my attention as, like the Green Frankincense above, it is unique in my incense experience. This one opens up a lot of possibilities for blends and also it is simply wonderful by itself.

Mephisto: This blend has many of my favorite materials in it, of which the labdanum really stands out. The blend overall has a very deep and somewhat dark presence (thus the name) yet at the same time it is also very well thought out with no harsh or jarring notes. This is one of those incenses that seemed to have required a bit of time to mature and is worth the wait. This looks to be in somewhat limited supply.

Dream Snake 2012: Dream Snake has been around for some time now , I think this may be the best one of the run. I would not consider this as something to use as a casual scent, rather it is to be approached with a grounded and focused intent. I see this blend as incense in the classic Temple or Oracle style, something to be experienced and treasured. Perhaps something to be used as a tool then for entertainment. That said, it does seem to have some very relaxing qualities to it and is rather fun to use before bed time

Forest Amber: This blend is a huge green forest note riding on an amber base and is quite spectacular. The two aspects work very well together and make for a great room scent, one that will work for quite a lot of people. A great room scent, one that would be welcome in a home setting as well as a studio or gallery.

-Enjoy… Ross

4 Comments

  1. Harlan said,

    June 25, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    I absolutely adore the Superior/Oman green frank. My partner that grew up in the catholic church smelling frankincense on a regular basis had to ask me what it was the first time I heated it up. He said “It’s so familiar, but I just can’t put my finger on it…” He never did guess what it was, being so different from any frank he’d smelled before. I find it to be very uplifting in a meditative kind of way, I have been using it any time I need a real pick-me up.

    I have not been able to find any review here of Mermade’s Phoenix, another kyphi style resin cake that I am taken with. I have been mesmerized by the well-balanced complexity of dark sacred wood notes, hints of bright citrus and the indescribable edge of a just-right (to me) dose of high quality myrrh. It is a very relaxing yet contemplative scent to me.

    Cheers.

  2. James Dotson said,

    June 25, 2012 at 9:18 am

    I was just sampling the black frankincense this weekend: I’ve been burning frankincense for more than 30 years and have never seen the “black” variety and agree that it is unique and has a gorgeous citrus/pine overtone. Was nice the run into you at Kohshi a few weeks ago!

    • clairsight said,

      June 25, 2012 at 12:19 pm

      Hey James The black is prettyinteresting, it really pleasently suprised me when I tried it, which is a nice thing 😮 )

  3. Lars said,

    June 22, 2012 at 2:41 am

    All three of those frankincenses are stunning.
    The light green one is my favorite, just because it’s so refreshing and uplifting.
    Though I think anyone who likes frankincense should try all three.
    Mephisto is a work of art, anyone into Katlyn’s earthier and “darker” blends would enjoy this.
    Have not tried the new version of Dream Snake or the new blend Forest Amber, but I have ordered them and I’m anxiously awaiting my pack.


Leave a Reply

