Sales Posts at ORS

Comments are moderated at ORS for a reason, without it you’d see dozens of posts from various companies who see the site as free advertising. Most comments that come through from representatives from incense companies seeking various threads here in order to sell their wares won’t be passed through. In particular, the people posting from Japanese Woods in Japan need to cease this activity. If I allow you to constantly post sales requests, I have to do it for every company. Before I was editing these posts, now I’m just going to delete them unread.

I will make exceptions because I don’t like hard and fast rules, but for an exception you need to e-mail ORS at the About site. For example, if someone posts that they like, say, Gyokushodo incense, a follow up by a sales company saying “You can buy it at our site” is just not acceptable here in any way. Thanks!

4 Comments

  1. Marian said,

    July 31, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Greg- When I first started out I was, and I continue to be, extremely grateful to the more experienced people who guided me towards both trustworthy sellers and quality products. Were it not for them I probably would have wasted a lot of time and money, and experienced many more disappointments than I have.
    If I mention where to buy an item I hope it will save someone time and effort. For example, it may sound ridiculous that it took me a really long time to find incense tongs- I didn’t know what the tool I needed was called or where to begin my search. The first pair of tongs I purchased was so flimsy and awkward to use I ended up trashing it. What seems obvious once you know what to buy and where to buy it, isn’t necessarily easy when you don’t.
    I think one of the most important things a person can do is to experience as many different scents as possible. It is through a wide range of experiences that one develops one’s own judgment and taste. A reviewer can guide people, but ultimately we each have to rely on ourselves to discover what kinds of scents attract us, and from which vendors we feel comfortable making purchases.

  2. Marian said,

    July 31, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Thank you, Mike. Much appreciated.

  3. Greg said,

    July 31, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Good idea, Mike. Keeping the integrity and relative objectivity of the reviews are important…I was beginning to wonder if the posters and incense mfrs. were a “mutual admiration club” ?! Being of a more skeptical bent, I see nothing wrong with a truly honest review including negative assessments, of course, framing one’s reservations in a polite manner.

    • Mike said,

      July 31, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Thanks Greg. My philosophy from day one is to keep criticism on the incense and not on the reviewer, since it’s all quite subjective anyway. I’d definitely be happy to hear from readers that Japanese Woods is an ethical company and does good business, but just coming here to drum up sales by posting replies to readers (particularly when I’m also hearing they only reply to e-mails that are sales related) isn’t the kind of business practice I like to see.


Leave a Reply

