Musk content in present stock of Tibetan Incense at EOTA

I have been asked quite a bit recently about the content of the musk in the present stock of Tibetan Incense at Essence of the Ages, and I would like to take this chance to clarify the issue, as well as why it came up. I recently received a box of samples from China, by request, of the better known high end Tibetans, well known in the past to have contained musk as an ingredient. I love burning a partial stick of same to start my incense enjoying day, as I find that it seems to clear my nose, or at least put my head in the right place. Imagine my shock when I found that the Holy Land and Nectar(priced over there higher than the Holy Land), as well as the Highland, which as we know lost its musk sometime ago, appear to also now be devoid of any musk. The person sending me this box had just returned from a 3 month buying expedition throughout China and Tibet to stock his shop. The remaining stock that Beth has at EOTA was purchased over 1 year ago, and I and my wallet can personally attest to the fact that what she has contains musk in good quantity. Sorry for you lovers of the Lotus Ground, but the supply of that is now gone and it is unknown when supplies will be restocked(it took over a year and a half last time). The Mindroling sticks are also all gone, so your best bet for a touch of musk may be the few remaining boxes of Holy Land, Nectar, Samye, or the powders. I wouldn’t count on anything new coming in being quite so good.

8 Comments

  1. Richie said,

    October 22, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    Thats unfortunate!

  2. October 19, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    I think the current prices on musk, agarwood and sandalwood have caught up with the incense trade in these areas (well all over actually) so you can expect to see major formula changes showing up as makers try and finagle new blends to mimic the old which might not be possible unless they turn to synthetic’s. Which would pretty much blow off the medical properties that the incenses were designed/crafted for in the first place.

    • greggking said,

      October 22, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      This is indeed a tough one, especially for the Tibetans, whose incense is wholly based on a medicinal system used for such an incredible length of time. I’m not sure what outside pressure there is on the incense makers at the monasteries to produce beyond what the local resources allow, however. My contact, being ethnic Han, although having family in the area, I suspect did not receive as true a picture as he might have if he had been a “native” Tibetan. He did mention that the people he purchased from absolutely would not discuss the amount of musk, if any, in the product he was purchasing. I also wish that they would remove mention of ingredients no longer used from the side of the box. I can understand the boxes may be made ahead of time somewhat, but 3-5 years plus?

  3. JohnPawn said,

    October 18, 2012 at 9:34 am

    I saw you comment on this a while ago, so I made sure to pick up a box just so I could experience this incense in its true form. When I received my order from Beth, I took one wiff of the Holy Land box and it smelt like an elegant barnyard…I figure I got the good stuff!

    • greggking said,

      October 18, 2012 at 8:13 pm

      I’m not so sure that Beth would be happy with people thinking that her place smelled like a high end barnyard, but the incense surely is high end 🙂

      • JohnPawn said,

        October 22, 2012 at 1:02 pm

        I definitely meant in the most flattering way possible!

        • greggking said,

          October 22, 2012 at 5:32 pm

          I have a box from Beth waiting for me to open when I get home, that I will now carefully inspect for elegant cow droppings, etc 🙂 I will report back and let you know what I sniff out.

          • JohnPawn said,

            October 25, 2012 at 4:36 pm

            hehe…if the cow is considered sacred, then surely anything that comes out of the cow must be sacred as well.


Leave a Reply

