Aluwwah.com closes its doors (so to speak)

I really had planned on doing a review of two of the latest creations from Simon at Aluwwah, one of my favorite creators of Bakhoors, later this week, but it has come to my attention that due to health concerns, Al Misky has decided to turn his attentions elsewhere. As a result, he will be shutting down his web site soon, so if you are wishing to grab what little remains on his shelves, better act fast. I have really enjoyed his ovine line of Bakhoors, from the deep, musky Sheep’s Breath, to the mellow Lamb’s Breath. While I have yet to heat the Black Pine Dragon (its breath through the bag makes me fear that it may have eaten the sheep), I believe it could be his best yet. Details later this week when I review both it and the Bakhoor Majlis B. Also, as the area of Agarwood is so large, I would like some input as to what areas of interest/preference that readers here would like to discuss.

10 Comments

  1. Abu Anwar said,

    April 6, 2015 at 5:58 am

    Fear not! Al-Misky is still in the game, and he’s working on a new site with some amazing new creations listed. Have a peek:

    http://aluwwah.net

  2. Lars said,

    October 27, 2012 at 4:39 am

    I’m very sorry to hear he’s sick, and have to close his store.
    I really adore his Lamb’s Breath Bakhoor, beautiful stuff.
    Just sent him a mail, enquiring about ordering Bakhoor Majlis B, Black Pine Dragon and Sultan al Citron.
    Are there any other places online that makes all natural bakhoors?
    I love to use Mermades and Ross’ incense creations on my heater, but I’m also interested in middle eastern scents

    • greggking said,

      October 29, 2012 at 2:27 pm

      I’m fairly sure that he has some of the Sultan al-Citron left. If not, the Velvet Skin is also very nice stuff. As to the others, I’m afraid you are too late, as I hear that some greedy pig(discerning buyer), in the States has already purchased the remaining stock of the Majlis and BPD, and is enjoying the creature comforts they provide greatly!!

      • Lars said,

        November 3, 2012 at 2:41 pm

        Yep, I got the Sultan.
        Too bad about the bakhoors, though.
        Would have loved to try them.

        I have ordered Bakhoor Noor (now sold out) and Bakhoor Cuunsi from agarscents, will be interesting to try, but I think they use synthetics.

  3. Marian said,

    October 24, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    As for posts I’d like to see, off the top of my head:
    How you define/identify “quality” when it comes to agar wood
    Your favorite ways to burn agarwood
    Descriptions (physical and olfactory) of wood from different regions
    How plantation wood compares with “wild” wood

    and any other information you think would optimize the burning experience πŸ™‚

    Thanks for asking πŸ™‚

  4. JohnPawn said,

    October 24, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Hi Gregg – to address what readers would might like to discuss…this reader would love to know:

    1. Who are these people such as Simon and Al Misky? Are there other incense characters who have shaped the stuff I’m smelling. Have you had interaction with these people? Do you have stories or experiences you can share? I think this adds to the joy and understanding of the scent.

    2. What’s your list of “can’t live without” incenses? There is a lot of notes and commentary on what ingredients are included and a fair amount of judgement on the quality of particular products…but I would love to know what YOU love and can’t live without. This goes for everyone!

    3. Do you have any incense that you’re embarrassed that you love so much? Stuff that you know is garbage, but you burn it anyway? I know that I have favorites like this within the movie and music universe, so I imagine that people may have these type of incense favorites as well.

    Just my two scents! <—-see what I did there?

  5. Marian said,

    October 24, 2012 at 8:14 am

    That’s very sad news, Gregg. Not only was Simon a talented incense blender and perfumer, he was always extremely fair about how he priced his creations. I hope his heath improves and that we will hear from him again in the future.

    I purchased Al Misky’s Sultan al Citron- a sparkling Tai’if rose blend in which prominent notes of Ta’if rose are supported by orange, ambergris and musk. (The website also lists cedar and sandalwood as ingredients). It is one of the sunniest and happiness-inducing mukhallats in my collection. I thought it was a bargain at full price but it’s now 25% off.

    • greggking said,

      October 24, 2012 at 3:26 pm

      I am truly sorry for any grief or confusion I may have caused by the title of my posting. I did feel grief that such a creative person as Simon/Al Misky would no longer be selling his wares. Simon and I both suffer from bad nuerological problems, although from diffrent diseases, and at his young age I assume he is much farther away from his maker than I am πŸ™‚ Luckily for him, he lives in an enlightened country that allows him to address his medical needs, unlike myself, a slave to the pharma giants. Simon is alive and kicking, and is having a shelf clearing sale. He also says he reserves the right to return to business, so don’t give up hope of seeing him around in the future!!

      • Marian said,

        October 24, 2012 at 11:48 pm

        Not to worry, Greg. As I read your post I realized what you meant πŸ™‚ It’s really unfortunate that you don’t have the same opportunities for palliative care as Simon does. I hope that changes, and that it changes SOON.

    • Christian said,

      October 29, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      Marian-I think you wrote about Lamb’s Breath and based on the review, I bought it. What a fantastic scent. It’s all that and more.

      Hope you are safe on the East coast.


Leave a Reply

