New offerings from Mermade

Smirna” – Styrax Benzoin: This is fun and also a very straight up resin hit. This is very different from Siam Benzoin(which has more vanilla) and this also looks to have a few things mixed in but has a really pleasant scent that works quite nicely for this time of the year. It is a great addition to the frankincense and myrrh.

Oh yes, Katlyn just got in raw Labdanum resin from Crete. This is the best from the best source and is a real treat. Maybe not for the faint of heart, but if you read this blog that probably does not really fit you anyway, makes a wonderful “present to self”.

Kyphi – Isis – 2013: One of the best of Mermades Kyphi blends with all the features and scent notes that make this a constantly  good buy with an added slight amber note floating around in the backround.. Not as “dark” as say, Deep Earth or Mephisto, but still loaded with resin/wood goodness. When I smell this and then contemplate Roman emperors burning something along the lines of thousands of pounds at once I think to myself..maybe we should try it in DC  🙂

Indigo Dreams: This one is somewhat surprising to me in that I rarely go for Lavender based incense. However in this case it really works well with a slight vanilla base note mixed in. This is a very pleasant scent and the relaxation aspect of the mix is an added bonus. Might be a bit hard to get, I have discovered  that someone I introduced Mermaids works too tends to wipe out all the stock of this sort of thing.

Pomander: Resins, woods, spice and a bit of orange make for a great holiday/winter scent. I am always glad when Pomander makes its yearly appearance.

2 Comments

  1. Arjunī said,

    December 8, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    I have tried the last three; Pomander was not to my taste, but it was solely a matter of personal preference – I found it too strong and a little cloying – and not for lack of quality. Indigo Dreams is indeed surprisingly pleasant.

    Kyphi is being carefully rationed, lest I burn all of it in one sitting. It’s so glorious, rich and full and exactly how I’ve always wanted kyphi incense to smell. The idea that there may come a time in the future when I cannot get this particular kyphi, and will not be able to burn it anymore…well, I understand your friend’s tendency to buy up stock of certain blends.

    I also received a bottle of “Moon” from the new Byzantine Sun and Moon pair, and wow, is it ever dazzling. It has a luscious, sweet-resin savour that makes me want to drink the air. 🙂

    • December 8, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      I have tried both Sun and Moon and found the combination to be very nice. Not overblown like a lot of this type. They are both elegant light floralish/resin offeringsthat are balanced and different enough to make a great pair.


Leave a Reply

