Ross’s Incense at Mermade Magickal Arts

For those of you who have asked where to get my incense I now have three incense blends available at Mermade Magickal Arts. Ocean of Night, Sandalwood & Ambergris and Souked Agarwood. There are also sample sizes. The Souked Agarwood is a limited run given the cost and availability of the agarwood I like to use. They all use only the finest of natural materials and take quite a while to mature before I sell them.

Be sure and also check out the rest of Mermade’s site as there are many new offerings from both Katlyn and other artists.

14 Comments

  1. leigh lennox said,

    February 18, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    I have tried a couple of Ross’s blends and I love them. I thought I remembered on the last one I bought (through Mermade) that it was made with ethically harvested ambergris. Is that correct? And is that the case on any of your (Ross’s) blends that contain it? Thanks for any info – I really enjoyed the ones I had, and would like to try “Comfort”. Thanks!

    • clairsight said,

      February 18, 2014 at 11:13 pm

      I use ambergris from ambergris.co.nz and always ask for colors that would have to take awhile in and on the ocean. So yes to the best of my knowledge it is beach caste ambergris. Thanks!

      • leigh lennox said,

        February 18, 2014 at 11:51 pm

        Thank you! Looking forward to trying it all!

  2. Theo said,

    April 21, 2013 at 11:43 am

    Hi Smokinjoe,

    I recently purchased the Subitism and some additional 0.1mm mica plates (ex USSR) off ebay. I have used a single 0.1mm mica on top of the existing 0.1mm supplied and burnt both Dragonsblood as part of the Thor mix from Incendiary Arts and frankinsence as resins on the mica plate with no problems. Once the resin cools it prises off in a resin block off the mica plate easily. No residue left behind at all. The only reason I have used another mica plate to date was the bakhoor I have been burning has released quite a large amount of rose essential oil which sits on the plate and would obviously “taint” other burns. The bakhoor I use is oud chips infused with essential and I use a small pinch in the centre of the Subitism within the area of the visible wire. The burn time to ash is how I determine the time I have the heater on – its very quick maybe 2 minutes. However this is not a hard and fast rule as I sometimes burn for 30 secs for a quick frag hit. The time would be extended with the addition of a further mica plate…maybe a 0.01mm on top of the additional 0.2mm (0.1mm the unit is supplied with with extra 0.1mm I added). I will be experimenting and making a note of different plate thickness/burn time against fragrance notes. All the best ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 2dennis said,

    April 11, 2013 at 7:23 am

    Is there any ambergris or musk in Oceans Of Night?

  4. Cynthia Gilbert said,

    March 31, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    This question is not in regards to your above post, but can you please tell me which of the incense lines your review are considered all natural?
    Thanks!
    Cynthia

  5. Christian said,

    March 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    I just got samples of all 3 of Ross’s creations and urge everyone to do the same. The package was wafting wonderful fragrance even before I opened it. So far, I’ve only tried Ocean of Night. It’s amazing. I used my electric incense heater on setting 3, which was perfect for letting this treasure slowly give up its secrets.

    Mermade has become one of my favorite vendors. Katlyn always ships quickly and invariably includes a sample of something. She also has a good sample program if you are new to natural incense and don’t know where to start.

    • March 27, 2013 at 3:06 pm

      Thanks Christian, enjoy!

      • Smokinjoe said,

        April 2, 2013 at 10:54 am

        Hi Everybody,

        A Subitism is on the way to me from Kyarazen. I have been enjoying Japanese incense for a number of years. This is my first foray into electric heaters. I too have 3 samples of Ross’s blends as well as some frank from Mermade and woods from Kyarazen. I am not quite sure how to approach, or what to expect during a “burn”. Specifically, how much OCEAN OF NIGHT should I put on the burner, and how long will that exude fragrance? I don’t have any idea if it will be 3 minutes, 30 minutes, etc.. I also can’t seem to find much how-to information regarding electric heaters. Any comments/guidelines would be appreciated. Or maybe point me to a link that provides a little info on the subject.

        I found some .05mm mica sheets on Ebay, and those are on their way too. I am considering a dimmer for the Subitism, but will play with it first to determine if adding/subtracting mica sheets is workable.

        Smokinjoe

        • clairsight said,

          April 2, 2013 at 12:16 pm

          Hello Smokin
          Ocean is very strong, start with a 1/4 teaspoon’s worth at a low heat, which is a pretty good way to start with all of my stuff and in general on a heater. Start small and work your way up to what seems best for the occasion and your nose!
          I do not think using the Kyarazen heater with frankinsense is a good move as the resin will surly stick to the mica(I know the wood resins stick, ‘frank would be a lot crazier. You might contact Kyarazen for advice on this one, feel free to post the answer ๐Ÿ˜ฎ )
          -Ross

          • clairsight said,

            April 2, 2013 at 12:19 pm

            On second thought maybe use one mica plate for “non-wood” items. There are resins in Ocean. I tend to use the kyarazen heater just for woods(so far). By the way, Mermade is getting a new line of heaters in that will work great for mixtures and such.

            • Smokinjoe said,

              April 2, 2013 at 1:01 pm

              Thanks for the tip. How long should a 1/4 tsp last on the burner? Also, I found 48 mica sheets for under $10 including shipping.

              http://www.ebay.com/itm/261179795798?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

              Looks like they are not perfectly clear, but hope that doesn’t matter. I do not have them yet. I don’t consider them throw away after 1 use, but close. Dedicating several to a specific aromatic shouldn’t be a problem. They should be able to be cleaned with alcohol???

              All for now,

              Smokinjoe

              • clairsight said,

                April 2, 2013 at 9:26 pm

                I would say 30-60 minutes, depends on heat and room size. The scent will also stay in the area for quite awhile.
                Thanks for the mica tip, just ordered some ๐Ÿ˜ฎ )


Leave a Reply

