Mermade Arts New Electric Incense Heater:

Mermade has brought out a new heater, which Katlyn was nice enough to send me for a test run.

It is a completely different experience then the last one. In appearance it is a nice gloss black body with golden lotus flowers around it. It has a ceramic base that the actual ceramic heater rests within as well as a ceramic, vented, top. It presents an overall graceful appearance and would work pretty well in any setting.

It also has a temperature controller that when tested against the IR temperature sensor I used seemed fairly accurate. I do not think it gets as hot as the last model, but since that got hot enough to cook food in, not to mention scorching expensive wood, this is not a bad thing.

I have tested this on some frankincense’s, agarwoods and sandalwoods as well as a variety of blends and it works well. It is also very easy to use. You for sure want to use a piece of foil to line the heating bowl that sets above the actual heating element. I have already recommended this unit to a number of my friends as I think it is a good investment, as well as selling at a good price. -Ross

10 Comments

  1. Terra Renee said,

    May 26, 2015 at 9:33 am

    I bought a $4 timer from Lowe’s to connect to this so I can fall asleep to the soothing aroma of my favorite incense (Lunar) and it works amazing. Sometimes I fall asleep very fast and wake up to find most of the resin gone, other times, I can’t sleep and the timer will turn the heater off, leaving me to fall asleep via aromatic fumes. This is amazing with an added timer. You can control the heat, time it stays on, and how much resin to add.

  2. Jas said,

    August 13, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Bought the incense heater from mermade too…any advice on which setting to burn the Daihatsu sandalwood slices ? Would 180 too low should I put it at 210 ??? Your kind advise would be very much appreciated…

  3. March 29, 2014 at 7:21 am

    I am looking into finding the right, affordable, electric burner. I saw this burner on the Mermade site and then saw you did a review on it. Thank you for that! I really like the price on it. I love this blog so much and was happy to read your impressions of the burner. My question is this: I’m not real keen on heating up foil and I like the mica sheet method that has been mentioned here. Do you have any idea where I can obtain these? I’m familiar with the mica plates but not sure those would be good for this particular burner from Mermade. Thank you in advance for your response.

    • clairsight said,

      March 29, 2014 at 7:19 pm

      Check on EBay or possibly try an electronics shop.
      -Ross

    • Mike said,

      April 1, 2014 at 1:47 pm

      Mica plates should work fine on this burner and I would think most places that sell Japanese incense will stock them. I’d even ask in case you don’t see it in the catalog.

  4. greggking said,

    May 30, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    I also have had excellent results with this unit Ross, and have tested it against my full range of agarwoods, from the hardest to the softest, with great results across the full spectrum. Its almost as if this unit was designed for agarwood heating, as it scorched none of my wood, and if set correctly, can be left on overnight with the bottom barely covered with wood and 24 hours later your room will still be getting scented. I admit though that I did like it slightly better with a mica sheet cut to size, but a pre-cut mica sheet could be used as well, and as you say, barring that, a foil sheet is a must. There were also a couple of times that I broke out my older version of the heater for mixes that I had designed for the older unit with its higher heat range, but overall this is a vast improvement from the last model, including the packaging!!

    • clairsight said,

      May 30, 2013 at 4:17 pm

      I will have to try the mica sheet approch tonight.

  5. Jerry Joslen said,

    May 28, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    I have to say (in agreement with other commentary read) that 0.05mm Mica Sheets beats the foil hands down… no metal smell!
    You can find vendors in the Ukraine who offer these cheaply.

  6. May 6, 2013 at 10:13 am

    I would like to know more details abt electric heating machine and like to meet the dealer

  7. elisa robinson said,

    May 5, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    A few weeks ago I purchased one of these from Mermade Magikal Arts. Previously I’ve relied on charcoal –so, being my first electric incense/resin burner I can’t do any sort of comparison. ‘Have been burning frankincense and Katlyn’s Kyphi and sandalwood chips on it w/foil. I’m very happy with the results and it didn’t cost a fortune. Plus, It’s also a pretty object that sits on the side board even when not in use.


Leave a Reply

