Shoyeido – Nijo, Shirakawa, Genroku, Muromachi, Tenpyo

Nijo on first impressions is a heavily perfumed sandalwood stick, on first light I get a strong floral top note of jasmine and wisteria, with a mid note of fruit (maybe apricot or green grapes?) and a slight hint of vanilla amber and talcum.

Shirakawa is a stick with a rich, full bodied scent of vanilla and amber, with a hint of floral and dry sandalwood in the background. There is also a tiny base note of talc hiding out in the burn.

Genroku is quite diffrent from the first two, in that it has no overt perfumes or oils that I can tell, and insteads seems to be composed of a blend of aloeswood, with a top note of cambodian or vietnamese aloeswood and a base note of sweet agarwood.

Muromachi seemed to have a sweet spiced scent to it, with a blend of agar and dry sandal at the base.

Tenpyo is straight vietnamese agarwood, with the rich resiny aroma associated with such.

1 Comment

  1. Tim said,

    September 24, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    I just recieved my large order of Shoyeido samplers from Essence of Ages. I am smitten with Nijo. Muromachi was originally my favorite, but then was quickly taken over by Nijo when I tried it for the first time. I also really love Kyoto Cherry Blossoms from their Daily line. I’m definitely hoping I can find more favorites in the future. I’ve yet to try anything by any other companies, and still have to try the premium line.


Leave a Reply

