Haiku Contest

In another thread, one of our readers, JohnPawn, told us that he had some incense he’d like to give away and suggested a contest for the box. This incense is an ORS favorite and I’m always up for some fun so I was happy to indulge. Note that this contest, its winners and such, are all determined by John and his son, the judges, not by ORS, but I’m happy to make a place for it to happen. So here is the contest and rules…

Hey Everyone!

 

How about a little contest?

 

I have a box of last year’s coveted Dzogchen Monastery Lotus Ground incense (minus a few sticks) that I would like to give away.  I enjoy it, but it doesn’t move me.  I would rather this rare incense find a home where it will be treasured.  You can read about this wonderful prize here:

 

http://www.essenceoftheages.com/dzogchen/dzogchen1.html

 

As you may know, a haiku is a traditional, three line, Japanese poem with 5, 7 and 5 syllables per line, respectively.  Contestants are kindly asked to reply to this post with their own original, incense related haiku.  The best one wins the prize.

 

Now you might say, “Hey JohnPawn, why are you offering a Tibetan prize for a Japanese poem?”  There are two reasons for this.  First, I don’t know of any short form Tibetan poetry and, second, I don’t have any Japanese incense that I want to give away.  Sometimes we just have to live with life’s little ironies.

 

The judges will announce the winner approximately one month from today on May 16th, which coincidentally happens to be the 365th anniversary of the founding of the Dzogchen Monastery.  Or maybe it isn’t.  Either way, that is the day that the judges will reveal the winner based on their own arbitrary and undisclosed criteria.  And, of course, the judges’ decision will be final.  The judges will be myself and my youngest son.  Even though my son is only 12 years old, he has a wicked nose and a keen ear for poetry…although I will admit that he has a tendency to favor art of the scatological nature.  We’re working on that.

 

The only other caveat for the winner is that they must have a U.S. address.  Obviously, this is due to shipping costs.  Mike made the suggestion that I could request a non-U.S. winner to pay for the additional shipping charge.  However, I would prefer not to have money involved.  I know that this will exclude many readers from the prize, but hopefully our international friends will understand and still want to participate.

 

All entries must be submitted as replies to this post and be time stamped as of May 14th, 2015.  It would also be appreciated if you also stated if you were a U.S. or non-U.S. resident.

 

To get you in the mood, here are two haiku that I whipped up this morning…

 

Haiku #1

Smoke soars thick and sweet

Was wonderful but now gone

So too was our love

 

Haiku #2

New to Tibetan

With one wiff the woman asks,

Who sent the poo scent?

 

Here’s hoping people will participate!

 

-JohnPawn, Co-Protector of the DSS

29 Comments

  1. May 18, 2015 at 9:30 am

    I want to thank everyone for their submissions. The judges had a fun time repeatedly reading through these little gems. Debates were sparked, lessons were learned and wisdom was hopefully gained…what more could one ask from a tiny poem?

    But alas, there can only be one winner. After much deliberation, the judges have come to a final decision.

    The winner is deemed to be JK for his submission of the following haiku…

    Sandal companion
    Wafting high plum blossom smoke
    Fog of other worlds

    Here are a few specific notes from the judges related to JK’s haiku.

    -The idea of incense as a companion speaks to me. It provides a wonderful alone, but not alone feeling. This idea is also expressed as one of the ten virtues of incense.
    -“Wafting high plum blossom smoke” is fun to say out loud.
    -I’m a sucker for sandalwood.
    -Love the connection incense provides to other worlds and other times.

    Congratulations to JK! And thanks again to everyone for their contributions!

    JK – Please email a US address to john { at } endgameclothing [ dot ] com and I’ll get your prize shipped off right away!

    -JohnPawn.

  2. Wreatha said,

    May 15, 2015 at 8:57 am

    Damnit I’m too late
    Could’a been a contender
    Now I’m just a bum

  3. Terra Renee said,

    May 14, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    Sweet incense poetry

    Monastery’s sweet incense

    Living in the States is nice

    Tried a Haiku combining the Monastery incense and my location. Haha. I love Haiku. They’re such short, sweet poems.

    • Terra Renee said,

      May 14, 2015 at 5:05 pm

      Changing it because I forgot that the last line needs only five like the first. I’m silly.

      Sweet incense poetry

      Monastery’s sweet incense

      Living Stateside’s bliss

  4. May 13, 2015 at 8:46 am

    Just as a reminder…the window for submissions to the haiku contest ends tomorrow!

    All submissions must be time stamped on this site with a date no later than May 14, 2015.

  5. May 5, 2015 at 3:09 am

    Cinco de Mayo,
    !Ole! Incienso. !Viva
    La cucaracha!

  6. May 4, 2015 at 11:49 am

    And here’s two others I wrote…

    Two words worlds apart
    Incense and Incensed they are
    Details shape our world

    She begs me to watch
    As hips and hair dance with smoke
    We now become one

  7. May 4, 2015 at 11:46 am

    It’s great to see so many people participating! With little internet games, you never know what the response will be…thanks everyone!

    Does anyone have any favorites so far?

    • Shara said,

      May 4, 2015 at 3:56 pm

      My favorite is by shut-in_wise_man

      Otaku at heart
      While my soul is Tibetan
      I light up all sticks.

      • Shara said,

        May 4, 2015 at 3:58 pm

        I forgot to mention that I think everyone had great poems! I liked them all!

      • shut-in_wise_man said,

        May 8, 2015 at 6:57 am

        Thanks!
        Very cool to hear.

  8. shut-in_wise_man said,

    April 29, 2015 at 6:54 am

    Otaku at heart
    While my soul is Tibetan
    I light up all sticks.

  9. Desmond Cheong said,

    April 28, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    Incense wafting mist
    Reminiscing in the past
    All gone hurriedly

  10. Terra Renee said,

    April 28, 2015 at 4:51 am

    Tickling us softly

    Nose quivering with delight

    Sandalwood lingers

  11. April 23, 2015 at 10:15 am

    Ember unlocks art,

    Tall wand holds the hour’s essence;

    Let’s burn this bitch down!

  12. Terra Renee said,

    April 21, 2015 at 2:36 pm

    Aloeswood wafting

    Sweetly scented and wooded

    Soft smoke in the air

  13. Lamar McClain said,

    April 20, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    Here’s my attempt at Haiku

    Incense fragrantly
    dancing freely in the breeze
    for giving is joy

  14. Andrew Levas said,

    April 20, 2015 at 10:18 am

    The monastery’s gift

    fills me with wisdom

    I am at peace

  15. April 20, 2015 at 7:00 am

    It’s great to see that we already have 6 entries!

    • Lamar McClain said,

      May 21, 2015 at 7:07 pm

      Congrats on a fine poem! Enjoy the spoils of victory and continue certainly to write.

  16. JK said,

    April 20, 2015 at 5:24 am

    Soul of my friend trails

    Old Mountain dense smoke lifting

    Sacred Human Spirit

  17. JK said,

    April 20, 2015 at 5:21 am

    Sandal companion

    Wafting high plum blossom smoke

    Fog of other worlds

  18. April 19, 2015 at 8:19 am

    Yes! We have our first entries…a beautiful pair from JK!

    Both are wonderful…words of longing, words of appreciation…he effortlessly tapped into such universal themes. Well done!

    -JohnPawn.

  19. Shara said,

    April 19, 2015 at 2:48 am

    The scented smoke curls

    Higher and higher until

    It gets to heaven

  20. Shara said,

    April 19, 2015 at 2:42 am

    Japanese incense?

    Read the description again

    This is from Tibet.

  21. JK said,

    April 18, 2015 at 6:54 pm

    Powder, Herbs, Wood, Smoke

    Gently fuming trails in ash

    Kiss gently our hearts

  22. JK said,

    April 18, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    O Pangolin Scales

    I wish I knew what you are

    Scenting Tibet skies


Leave a Reply

