Terra’s Incense Contest

On the heels of John’s Haiku contest, another one of our readers has stepped up with a plan to share some more incense. I now turn this over to Terra!

——

I’m Terra and I’ve been mostly stalking this site for years, and only recently started posting. I have accumulated a lot of incense over the years, and some of it really isn’t to my liking. I’m giving away several sets of incense to those who might enjoy them more than I do. It isn’t a contest of poetry or skill test, just a drawing. To enter, simply post a few sentences about why you like incense, your favorite kind (Japanese, Indian, Tibetan, Resin, not specific brands), and how you got into incense. If you are new to incense, simply tell me why you’ve become interested in it and what type seems the most interesting to you. US citizens only, too, I’m afraid. These sets are FREE and I don’t want to charge anyone, but if it were international, I would have to charge. This is my example:

“I love incense because it helps cleanse the house, relaxes me, scents my clothing, and helps me sleep. I also really enjoy the feeling people get when they enter my house and smell the incense for the first time. My favorite type of incense is resin, followed closely by Japanese. I like these types because you just seem to get more scent out of them, making them well worth the prices. I first discovered incense the way many people do: my pot smoking friends were using cheap Satya Nag Champa to cover the smell. I was more interested in the smell of the Champa than the pot and I looked into incense and started my journey with cheap Indian incenses, slowly graduating to Japanese, Tibetan, and finally to resins.”

It doesn’t have to be that long at all. That’s just an example. There are four sets of various incense types. So there will be four chosen, the first chosen getting their pick of the sets, second, third, and then fourth. If you don’t like the scents included in any of the sets, simply don’t enter. I don’t want people to be in my boat and have a stack of incense they can’t/won’t use.

Here are the sets. Keep in mind these are NOT full boxes unless otherwise marked. They are mostly full, however:

Set 1:

Mother’s Nag Champa Om (one stick missing)

Mother’s Nag Champa Ganesh (one stick missing)

Mother’s Nag Champa Buddha (unopened, still sealed)

Mother’s Nag Champa Moksha (one stick missing)

Fred Soll’s Frankincense and Sandalwood

Fred Soll’s Vanilla Classic

Set 2:

Entire set of Japanese Morning Star 50 stick boxes (holders included in most boxes)

200 box Amber Morning Star Sticks (full 200, but has been opened, holder still included)

Angelic Shoyeido Gift Set (still in gift box)

Set 3:

Satya Natural Nag Champa x2 (both boxes sealed and unopened, relatively new)

Satya Red Box Nag Champa

Satya Blue Box Nag Champa

Choice of 120 stick HEM incense pack (Amber Sandalwood, Hindu Spices, The Moon, Chandan)

20 box HEM Serenity

Set 4:

Traditional Mandala in bamboo tube (one stick missing)

Yog-Sadhana (missing one stick)

BOSEN Pythoncidere Coils (one coil half-burned, other than that missing nothing)

BOSEN Old Sandalwood (missing one stick)

BOSEN Zambhala Joss Stick (20 sticks, VERY long, no box since these are a gift from my 250 stick box set, will be carefully wrapped and packed)

If you need a stick holder or burner (will fit all sticks, except Tibetan), say so. I have a bottle of pink sparkling sand, a huge unopened bag of white sand, aluminum stick burner (very heavy and well made), various wooden burners with unique designs (if you want one with two holes, say so when you win), and a Tibetan burner (also holds thin Japanese sticks and Indian style sticks). Also have a gorgeous castle shaped cone-only burner and a (used) wine bottle incense burner (clip the stick in, and put it in the bottle, bottle collects ash and releases more smoke than normal holders, very pretty). Whichever set the winners choose, please choose an appropriate burner if you need one. If you do not need a burner, great, it’ll save me shipping costs. If you do need one, I’m happy to provide. This is an excellent chance for people to experience new types of incense or to start their own incense collection if they don’t have much so far.

E-mail me at princessschala@gmail.com if you want pictures of any burner or the sets being offered. The drawing will end July 3rd, giving me the holiday to prepare the sets for shipment. Hope people are interested in the free incense being offered here!

– TerraRenee, incense lover

14 Comments

  1. February 15, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    too bad you never followed thru on your offer, even after I sent you incense as a thankyou.. or responded after emailing you a few times this fall and winter… disappointing

  2. Rochelle Gildar said,

    July 2, 2015 at 8:54 am

    why do I need incense? let me count the ways…started buying incense at local headshop/record store during pot soaked teenage years. Later I moved on to getting high without drugs…. and incense helps take me there. It focuses the mind, and connects me with Buddhists and meditators who came before me. Takes me back to the many monastaries and temples I visited in Asia. Evokes the turf and wood scents of Ireland and mountain places. The sharp smells of the desert. Now, I use it before work to get me ready for a day of service, doing massage… and when I get home to cleanse and release whatever sticks to me from the day! That thin stick makes me feel safe, as the tension falls away, and I have a fresh start again. I love it all,,,, except for fake florals…. but then what you are offering is the good stuff. and thank you for offering.

  3. Jen said,

    July 1, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    I became interested in incense a few years ago while shopping at the local health food store. I purchased a Shoyeido daily gift set and quickly fell in love. I am a nurse and coming home after a difficult shift and transitioning to life at home can sometimes be hard, incense helps with this transition. It helps center me and bring me back to the moment. In a profession where there is rarely a peaceful moment and it is always about someone else incense is what I do for me. Japanese incense is my favorite and have introduced it to several of my friends.

  4. Michelle B said,

    June 23, 2015 at 7:59 am

    I think I’ve always loved incense. I remember helping my mom pick out incense sticks at stores when I was a kid. We used to burn it all the time. Then we didn’t. But I always loved the smell of it. The past few months I’ve been getting back into burning it. I’ve tried some Japanese sticks that are lovely.. and am totally obsessed with loose incense resins and powders at the moment. Incense always makes me feel calm and happy. I’m especially fond of sandalwood, amber, patchouli and vanilla.

  5. Terra Renee said,

    June 9, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    I’m starting to pack up the sets and wrap them. Only 7 entries so far! Remember, this is totally free and I’m also providing appropriate holders or sand if you need them.

  6. Kameron Stander said,

    June 3, 2015 at 9:35 am

    Hi, I have an incense burner from when I was abut 14 years old. It came from Pier One Imports and I used it with some Goluka charcoal incense from there as well. I’m 41 now and have always loved that simple wood ski shaped burner. When my mom would get mad at me for burning incense in my room as a teenager until now when I still get looks from people who think incense burning is a fringe activity, I have fun being someone who appreciates the alternate in life.

  7. Joe said,

    June 1, 2015 at 11:58 am

    Hi there.
    I initially discovered scented candles as a way to make my home a bit more personal. I went on an obsession to find a campfire scented candle, but along the way I discovered sandalwood scented candles by diptyque. I was drawn to the smooth laid back scent. I eventually found out about incenses and bought a satya starter set. Wow, they were very smoky. I went on to find japanese incense sticks as they seemed to be less smoky and subtle.I’ve taken my first steps into the incense realm and it has been very rewarding as I’ve been able to appreciate the more complex woods and blends. I just can’t go back to candles for some reason! There is an ethereal and calming effect that incense sticks evoke. Aside from that, the scents seem far more pure and complex compared to my candles, which now sit in my bathroom as visual appeal.

  8. May 31, 2015 at 7:35 pm

    Hey Terra, nice to see you here!
    I haven’t been able to write anything in a while and just decided to pop in and check the site out and saw your article.
    im a big fan of Japanese incense, and my fav is gyokushodo hands down.

  9. May 31, 2015 at 9:12 am

    Hi Terra,

    Nice little contest trend we got going here…

    My first experience with incense was when I was probably 11 years old. Not sure if they still exist, but there was a store chain in the malls called Spencers. Spencers was filled with all types of wonderfully inappropriate items for my 11 year old eyes. Among the Farrah Fawcett posters and bachelorette party favors, I spied some cone incense. For some reason, my parents allowed me to purchase them and I fell in love…with both incense and the Farrah Fawcett poster. Alas, time passes and both the incense and the poster were forgotten.

    Fast forward another 10 years or so and I purchased a variety of sticks from a craft fair. I enjoyed them quite a bit while I was working on a large project at the time. After the project, I still had a few sticks left but never burned them. Then approximately 3 years ago, I rediscovered the last few sticks from that batch. I decided to burn one and was instantly reminded of how much I love incense. So with the wonders of the Internet, I found the ORS and armed with a few hours of basic incense education, I headed over to EOTA and grabbed a bunch of different sticks recommended by the various Hall of Fame pages.

    When your eyes are opened to a new world of knowledge, it can shed a pretty negative light on things you once held sacred. Upon examining my old incense sticks, a chill ran down my spine as I realized that this “incense” from my youth was nothing more than chemically dipped charcoal sticks. And what upsets me the most was that I was duped by that hippie chick at the craft fair. What a phony! She may as well have been Dick Cheney disguised in a peasant dress and dreadlocks. But that’s all water under the bridge…

    I enjoy and appreciate all types of incense but my favorite is definitely Indian. There is little doubt that Japanese represents the height of the craft. However, being so reserved and precise seems to exclude some of the crazy ecstasy that can be found with the Indians. What could be better than a beautiful spring afternoon with the windows open, breeze blowing, music playing and a strong Indian burning?

    -JohnPawn, Co-Protector of the DSS

    • Terra Renee said,

      June 1, 2015 at 9:31 am

      This is so true. While Satya was the first brand I encountered (thanks to druggie friends) I still ended up with chemical-dipped charcoal sticks being my first love since it’s hard to find Satya where I live. Then I discovered internet incense and found japanese, tibetan, and resin incense. For specifics, my favorite is Goddess Hymn by Mermade and any Agarwood coils by IncenseHouse/BOSEN.

  10. Lamar McClain said,

    May 30, 2015 at 8:49 pm

    Terra

    I do want to commend you for your willingness to sponsor your incense drawing. Your contest models in a large way exactly what incense means to me.

    Incense has over the years come to express varying aspects of my spirituality although I have always found it to be aesthetically pleasing. As a purist I tend to gravitate towards resins (Oman Frankincense ground with guggul myrrh as my all time favorite) but right beyond resins I love Tibetan and Japanese blends.

    Now I see incense as an emblem of how I view my life’s contribution. Incense having been crafted or cultivated by its creator uniquely enhances its world as it divests itself on its journey to its end as ashes. It is my hope that while on my journey to ashes, I may also significantly bless the lives of those around me.

  11. Paul Galli said,

    May 29, 2015 at 12:23 pm

    Thanks for your generous offer!
    I’ve been into serious incense for about 6 months.
    I’ve been an avid wine collector (1000 bottle cellar) for over 35 years.
    Smelling great aged wine is quite satisfying, so I found ORS and the rest is history.
    Really hooked on Tibetan Incense (Highland & Holy Land), Minorien Kyara Ryugen and Frankincense/Various Blends from Mermade.
    Don’t need any holders. I have plenty!

    Thanks,
    Paul Galli

  12. luv2fly said,

    May 27, 2015 at 8:24 am

    Hi Terra,
    Thank you for your kind generosity in conducting this giveaway! I enjoy incense because it uplifts my spirits, takes my mind to exotic places, relaxes me and aids in meditation, and I love to surprise guests and friends with awesome, unexpected scents! Japanese incense is my favorite, followed by resins. I enjoy Japanese incense because of its masterful blending, its more subtle nature, its complexity and interplay of notes, and the awesomeness of aloeswood! My love of Japanese and other quality incense came about when after much time enjoying average store bought incense, I happened into a Japanese boutique as I love Japanese items, and spotted Japanese incense! Intrigued, I purchased a couple of scents, and I was so very impressed! A few months later I was browsing online, and came upon one of our valued retailers, and was most surprised to discover what appeared to be much higher quality incense than I had heretofore realized existed (I was at first quite amazed at the prices, lol!) And, what on Earth was this aloeswood…?? And what made it so desireable? Well, I certainly found out, and then there was no turning back!!

    • Terra Renee said,

      May 29, 2015 at 5:29 am

      There’s still one whole month left, but if no one else enters, you win it all! Haha. I love the way you described Japanese incense and aloeswood. That’s how I feel about resins. You get the full, beautiful,natural scent and the blending is perfect and masterful.


Leave a Reply

