Mermade: Cyprian, Xochi, Luna, Naga’s Nest:

This is the first of about three different reviews I have put together, the other two will come out later this coming week.

Cyprian – Agar-Labdanum-Rose: This is an altogether wonderful blend that uses three of my favorite materials. As a mood setting or meditation blend it is perfect as it works for both moments of reflection as well as warmth. Best on an electric heater, it can last quite a while and has a long “hang time”.

Xochi – MesoAmerican Visionary Incense: Fresh, bright and alive is how I think of this one. The Copal’s and other resins mixed with the assortment of herbs and flowers is a great and lively scent on the heater that works really well at the end of the day. It does help one to relax and let go, which is not a bad thing at all. This has become one of my favorite scents and is quite different from what I normally go for. Nice for Spring and Summer times.

Luna – Lunar Resin with Jasmine: So, using real Jasmine in incense is really kind of an art form. It can be very difficult to get it to smell right, the blend of materials with it is all important as are the quality of the materials. This one has it all working together and is sublime. It is not overwhelming as many of the Indian or Japanese style Jasmine incenses can be, it just sort of takes a place in the room and lets life go on in a much more pleasant fashion. Highly recommended as a true floral incense. Best gently heated.

Naga’s Nest – A Himalayan Fantasy Incense: I really like the Rhododendron in this mix, it adds an honest water note that is very unusual and quite fascinating and rides over and through the different woods, herbs and frankincense notes. Something very different from Mermade that will appeal to a lot of people. On a hot day this might be just the thing to cool things down a bit.

5 Comments

  1. Cee said,

    June 14, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    I have been a fan and a buyer of Mermade’s blends for several years, but I really believe she outdid herself with Luna. Jasmine in perfumes leaves me cold. It is always too brash and fecal. Luna, on the other hand, reminds me of a Mozart piece where the jasmine rises above everything else and is beautifully suspended in the air, the way night blooming jasmine or star jasmine are in nature. I like to put Luna in my incense heater (lowest setting) about 20 minutes before bed. When I come back into the room, I get that spectral jasmine floating in the air of the room and it is stunning. When I wake up in the morning, it is still there, hovering like the calm spirit of a lost lover. This is a brilliant, poignant blend.

    I recently moved to the East coast and have been afflicted by the high (average 90s) temperatures, so I am going to take Ross’s advice today and try Naga’s Nest. I have no doubt it will affect me very differently than it did in California.

    Kaitlyn is a kind, gifted woman and her incenses are treasures. I always try to purchase a new blend before they are all gone.

    • Mike said,

      June 15, 2015 at 10:08 am

      I’ve reviewed Cyprian and Naga’s Nest elsewhere, but don’t need to review Luna after Ross and Cee’s comments, they’ve said almost exactly what I would have said. Jasmine is very difficult to get right in an incense but here it’s almost perfect and iirc, I think it has something to do with the use of the calamus root in the incense. This one’s a real treat. Am hoping to review a few more Mermade blends in the near future, should time permit! Very happy with Heart of the Sun and the recent champa sticks were astonishing, but I can’t find them on the site anymore so they might be gone.

      • Terra Renee said,

        June 15, 2015 at 12:37 pm

        The champa sticks have been gone for about a week, I think. I last remember seeing them Tuesday. They were amazing. I can’t believe they’re really gone so soon. I have a single jar that I’ve only used one stick from, and I’m guarding it jealously until I see them back in stock. The sweet honey fragrance and natural champa scent worked in beautiful harmony and filled the air with a sweetness and warmth for hours, especially if used on the heater at a medium setting. At a high setting, they scorched too fast and at low, the honey smell wasn’t as strong.

        These sticks were superb, and it’s a pity they didn’t last. I would love to have read a review on them. It wouldn’t have changed anything, though. These sticks were a wonderful way to honor the Bee Goddess and to bless your garden with the scent of nectar and honey to call the bees to pollinate your flowers.

  2. Terra Renee said,

    June 13, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    I’ve tried all of these, and Cyprian is by far the best blend I’ve ever experienced from Mermade (besides Goddess Hymn). It’s floral, woody, and almost sensual. This is a gorgeous, romantic scent that I’ve used to set the mood for romance several times. It’s just superb.

    Xochi is very herbal and almost has a tangy, spiced smell. The psychoactive ingredients, even in the small amounts in Xochi, are definitely noticeable. It’s very relaxing and almost cooling right before bed. Usually I rely on pure frankincense or aloeswood to calm me down before bed, but Xochi is something special indeed.

    As for the others, I’ve already expressed my love of Luna, and I only tried a sample of Naga. It was very unique but the scent didn’t last as long as I would have liked. It could have been because it wasn’t as strong in a sample bag as it would have been in the Mermade jar, clumped together in the “nest” it comes in. The first Naga blend was amazing, so I’m betting this one is truly special when you get more than a sample.

  3. Paul Galli said,

    June 13, 2015 at 8:07 am

    I’m a big fan of Naga and Xochi.

    Love the forest/herbal nature of Naga with the Frankincense background in a support role.

    But Xochi is a whole other animal and is my current Mermade favorite.
    There are a few psychoactive ingredients used that are REALLY relaxing.
    For those who have trouble sleeping, try a round of this before retiring.
    I have no trouble getting to sleep. Five to ten minutes and I’m gone.
    After using this, I seem to fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow!
    It truly mellows you out! And the fragrance is quite unique.
    Recommended on many levels….


Leave a Reply

