A few guidelines to think about before posting a complaint here.

I’ve tried to make Olfactory Rescue Service a place where you can share complaints about businesses, but what I had in mind was when there is a serious problem, like if someone runs off with your money for good. And yet I’ve let some minor complaints through and unfortunately what this has done, particularly in Essence of the Ages case, is send people over here en masse to complain about things that actually should be directed to the business itself. We do realize that over the last year or two Essence has changed the shipping times from within a few days to seven business days. This is now clearly stated on the site. And seriously if it goes over a business day, let’s not complain. I realize we want our incense as fast as possible but let’s not pretend that most incense businesses are corporations on the level of Amazon who have the infrastructure to deal with things in a way one single person running a business can’t. One thing I have noticed is that when Beth gets a complaint here, she will respond to it and 4 times out of 5 there isn’t a counter response, because her logic is tight. On the other hand, I think people need to pay close attention when something is out of stock. If you don’t want to wait for something to restock let her know that on the order when you place it. Believe it or not, I don’t work for any of these businesses and yet I’m having to play middleman in a way I don’t really have as much time for at the moment due to other concerns. But I do know that Beth is good people and I’ve probably let out the leash too far on letting things pass through here and I’d bet money the incense orders would go out faster if she didn’t have to keep explaining herself or replying to repetitive emails. Just have some patience. Be good people yourself.

From now on, one’s complaints must be serious for me to let it pass through. You see some of the complaints here have been petty about people who have been almost extraordinarily generous. Complaints about Mermade for example better be damn convincing, because the evidence is far more in favor of extreme generosity than it is about making mistakes about orders. If I have to be honest by allowing complaints against people who process orders above board, I should be equally honest when I know the business integrity of someone as well. Let us be kind to each and understanding to each other.

Also, and I think I’ve said this before, if you’re a stranger complaining, I’m going to be very likely about deleting complaints unread, because unfortunately most of you don’t come back when your complaint is responded to by the business. People who read these complaints should pay attention to the responses and not automatically assume a complaint is valid if a business follows up.

Finally, let’s be clear about who runs Olfactory Rescue Service. It’s not any of these businesses. It’s me and my staff. I will explain the rules as kindly as I can and I will do the utmost to be honest and fair. But I have no fear of moderating severely when these rules are not respected. I would prefer the site to be as drama free as possible.

30 Comments

  1. Thanks said,

    October 9, 2015 at 5:21 am

    I recently ordered from EotA and was completly satisfied with everything.

  2. October 7, 2015 at 6:01 pm

    Thank you Beth.In receiving my order in London,the box was filled with generous loving heart energy.This cannot be purchased.And I am still delighting in my purchases and planning my next box!!
    Also Thank you Katlyn for your lovely generous e mails,always heart and delight based.
    I look forward to my order with you soon,you are giving beauty to the world that even reading descriptions of your incense I am transported to moonlight woods.Dr.Joseph Cymrank

    • Beth Johns said,

      October 7, 2015 at 6:15 pm

      Thank you Joseph! I am thrilled you are enjoying your purchase from me. : ) Thank you for the kind words.

    • October 8, 2015 at 6:58 pm

      Thank you for your appreciation and support Joseph

      • Terra Renee said,

        October 8, 2015 at 7:11 pm

        Everything Katlyn does is filled with heart and always delights me. I’m burning Dark Goddess now, and my room is filled with such a sweet, calming scent…I feel as I’m in the middle of a wet forest at night. Such talent, and art. And I still have a ton of my Lotus Ground from Beth, which is amazing, and always helps lull me to sleep.

  3. Mike said,

    October 7, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    Thanks Joe, Martin, Katlyn, Chris and Zooanthid for the kind remarks and input – appreciate it!

  4. Terra Renee said,

    October 7, 2015 at 3:07 pm

    Thanks for deleting my post when it was a legit question, not even a complaint…are we not allowed to ask questions about businesses on here anymore either? Or are only the people who have been actively posting for years allowed to ask questions? As I said, I’ve been lurking for years, and I had no complaints whatsoever in the post you deleted. I had a simple question, and you deleted it without even responding or perhaps letting me know if something was indeed going on with the respective business I had a question about. This is super-modding (or stupid-modding). If you don’t want patrons of this use-to-be-awesome review/blogsite to ask questions, please remove the “Ask” section.

    As I said, I WAS NOT VOICING A SINGLE COMPLAINT ABOUT ANY BUSINESS! I was asking a simple question in hopes of getting an answer from Mike, who knows this business better than I do since he’s so entwined with them that he’s almost part of it.

    I mean no drama, Mike. You’re awesome, really, I just wonder why my QUESTION was deleted when it was posted in the area FOR questions. If I had posted under, say, the new ZenMinded blog post, I could understand.

    • Mike said,

      October 7, 2015 at 5:18 pm

      Terra Renee, I don’t discuss moderation issues other than what is generally needed and that’s what this post is about. It’s OK to not like my approach, but in my experience 95-99% of our readers understand this approach without me having to take more time. Seriously and I mean this as friendly advice, if you’re getting this upset over something like this, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to just step back and take a break. I and I’m sure other readers here appreciate your posts and comments on incenses, but this is the wrong direction. Please let this one go. Thanks.

      • October 7, 2015 at 5:54 pm

        Dear Mike,please feel free to delete ANY of my comments or questions at any time.The benefit gained from this site for me,and all the incredibly hard work to create and moderate this site,your unfailing patience and integrity is a marvel.Someone has to make decisions and I think if we could try to drop our ego a little for the delight we all are lucky to share of that magical smoke transporting with wonder and pleasure to another dimension,I am always greatful for your moderation and decisions,after all someone’s got to do it and it won’t be me,so do whatever you feel is needed and I encourage us all to drop our personal dramas for the wonderful gift of this world of magical transporting scent.Joe

        • Mike said,

          October 7, 2015 at 6:32 pm

          Thanks for the positivity as always Joe.

      • Terra Renee said,

        October 7, 2015 at 6:12 pm

        I’m just upset that a question was deleted. I totally understand deleting pointless complaints or rants, but deleting questions posted in the “ask” section? I just don’t understand, that’s all. No, you don’t have to explain it at all, I get that. I just don’t get why you have a question section if we can’t ask questions. Oh well. I’ll just avoid asking anymore questions on here and use Google or Facebook to try and get my answers.

        This has always been such a wonderful resource to find out about incense and the people who run the wonderful websites where we get our incense, so I just automatically come here when I have a question. I’m sorry. It won’t happen again. I’ll find some other site if I have a question about a type of incense or an incense business-related question. I appreciate the advice, and yes, I am upset. The question I asked…I really did want an answer. Now I have no way of knowing if it’s just me, or not.

  5. zooanthid said,

    October 7, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks Mikke for this site! It has helped guide me. I have order from both Beth and Kat and have nothing but great to say about them both! Kat has amazing hand made products!

  6. Chris said,

    October 7, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    Well said, Admin!

    I have patronized both Katlyn and Beth for many, many years and both have showed me the utmost kindness and generosity. If a problem ever were to have occurred, I would have addressed it directly with one of them. Period.

    I think publicly complaining here about Katlyn’s price of an item or how fast Beth ships is very bad form. As was stated earlier, they are not Big Box stores or mega websites. They offer all of us wonderful places where we can indulge our olfactory passion and I, for one, am deeply grateful for them and ORS.

  7. October 7, 2015 at 2:00 pm

    As a long time user of this site and an intensive incense buyer for many decades I do have incense suppliers who I do not like at all and who regularly make mistakes,however as long as these mistakes are rectified my personal dislike of how they communicate,rudeness,and gross inneficiency I feel is between me and the incense supplier.So,as long as mistakes are corrected I avoid buying from them,and if asked,voice my concerns.However I do agree with Mikes statement that I would only make a complaint or report on this site if I have received serious misconduct with refusal to resolve from the seller.Thankfully this has never happened,(though I have sometimes had to communicate repeatedly with slight threats to complete the transaction as agreed with some suppliers).
    Let’s be honest,no incense supplier such as beth at essence of the ages,or pretty much most incense suppliers are trying to commit fraud or are building a multi million dollar business empire!!
    Personally as much as I adore incense,I would never have any desire to have the work/stress/profit balance of any incense business.
    I usually feel that most incense suppliers are selling out of love and doing there best and in fact feel that they are ‘blessing’ me with thier incense sales.
    I love to go on many internet sites and moan,cause trouble and generally to be a pain,but this site would never be one of them,where a non profit blessing gift and guidance is given for all us incense fanatics,it is one of the few sites that is not BIASED,money making or promoting division and hatred in the world.
    Let’s keep it like that,honest?yes.but unbiased and good natured.There are millions of other places we can moan and complain and express our anger to our hearts content.
    One of the most beautiful aspects of this site is that this site has never been one of them.So easy to be Divisive and complain and yet,all of us,including incense sellers,makers and buyers from across the world,are blessed with joy through our olfactory bulbs in scent.For me,beautiful incense is a gift from the divine and I feel lucky to have people like Beth and all the other sellers doing thier best to bring delight to our noses.

  8. October 7, 2015 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks guys…we do the very best we can and appreciate the loyalty and support!

    • October 7, 2015 at 8:25 pm

      I know even just from reading the reviews that you,Katlyn are spreading beauty and goodness in this world.Just reading the descriptions of your reviews I have been transported to a full moon in a midnight blue wood.Thank you for your efforts.It is my loss living in London however soon I will try,Dr.Joseph Cymrank

  9. October 7, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    Hello, my name is Martin Leprohon and I dwell in Quebec. Personally, I feel concerned by this post because I ordered at Essence of the Ages more than two months ago and I only received my order this morning.

    My purpose is not to complaint against Essence of the Ages, because I adore the raw materials which Beth sells and I am going to continue to buy her products.

    On the other hand, I think that it is the responsibility of the storekeepers to reassure their customers when they do not deliver the goods in a reasonable time. Sincerely, I find that two months of wait a little bit long!

    Finally, I want to say thank you to Beth for sending me my goods…

    • Beth Johns said,

      October 7, 2015 at 6:25 pm

      Hello Martin and thank you for your weigh in. : ) Yes, your order did take a long time to ship as I was waiting for supplies to arrive from Nepal. As you may, or may not know, my incense maker, raw ingredient supplier and dear friend was killed in the April 2015 Nepal earthquake. I have been working to get those lines up and running again but it is hard to do that from the US. I sincerely thank you for your patience in receiving your order from me. Blessings friend.

      • encensprimamateria said,

        October 7, 2015 at 8:20 pm

        Hello Beth, I had vaguely heard about the death of your friend on the Incense Exchange, and now that I can finally speak to you, I take advantage of it to offer you my sympathies. Furthermore, thank you to continue to import these raw materials from Nepal. It’s important to me!

  10. Mike said,

    October 7, 2015 at 11:38 am

    Thanks Lamar and Ross!

  11. clairsight said,

    October 7, 2015 at 11:25 am

    Well said Mike.

  12. Lamar.McClain@yahoo.com said,

    October 7, 2015 at 11:13 am

    For what it is worth…This has in my opinion gone in long enough and the spirit of this drama is contrary to what enjoying incense is all about. Unless you are buying incense for the Shrine of the Immaculate Conception Beth’s selection and warmth merits a bit of compassion and understanding. Just my two cents. Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone.

    • Beth Johns said,

      October 7, 2015 at 6:26 pm

      Thank you Lamar, for your vote of confidence. : ) Blessings friend.

  13. MattnSF (formerly MattnDC) said,

    October 7, 2015 at 10:56 am

    Here, Here! As a very pleased customer of both Beth and Katlyn, I am happy you have said this. I don’t post very often, but these businesses provide real service to our community, as does ORS itself. Keep up the good work, all of you! Matt

    • Mike said,

      October 7, 2015 at 10:59 am

      Thanks Matt!!

    • October 7, 2015 at 2:11 pm

      Here here.stop moaning and start sniffing.
      I think that many incense suppliers and certainly Beth and Katlyn should receive a huge note of thanks and a massive bunch of flowers.We must be patient for incense blessings,we are not buying the latest iPhone.relax.I wouldn’t want to deal with me as a customer!!!Thier patience and good heart is truly,like the incense a blessing.Let’s appreciate,not deprecate.joe

    • Beth Johns said,

      October 7, 2015 at 6:27 pm

      Matt, thank you. Blessings.


Leave a Reply

