Fifth Anniversary of the Natural Perfumers Guild

So today marks the fifth anniversary of the Natural Perfumers Guild, which is a good start. It has come a ways, gone through changes and looks to be in it for the long haul. You can find a list of the different blogs and bloggers at the bottom of this post that are writing something for this event (plus, I think, there are a few other places that will mention something about it).

I have always been attracted to the scented side of things. Making things out of different woods in my Dads shop at home was great because of the smells of the different woods.  The subtle difference in scents between different raw clays and glazes when making pottery added a whole other dimension to ceramics. Hiking, camping, waking up in the mornings in the mountains and taking that first deep breath in at first light were very special moments. The sense of smell adds a huge, but at the same time, very subtle boost to ones sense of the world around them. It’s also so often overlooked.

When using incense it took me awhile to understand that the ones I gravitated to were generally those which used natural ingredients. There is just something that “smells” different to me between those built with woods, resins, herbs, spices and real oils and those that are not. Not that it’s not possible to make odd/bad smelling incenses or perfumes with naturals (as some of my own experiments are examples of 🙂   But for my nose, generally, the naturals just work better.  The incense has lead to perfumes and classes with Mandy Aftel, who has been a great source of inspiration and knowledge and an appreciation of the real Art of Perfumery.

I love to source out new scents and spend hours on the net looking into obscure leads on new places. I am always fascinated at how different the same plant can smell from each place. As I write I can see a box with at least ten different bottles of Rose in it. Each is different and special in its own way. So I find it funny to hear, “It has Rose in it”. Really?, from where? What year? How it distilled and what was the weather/soil/water like in the area where it was grown? Using natural materials can be very tricky, very demanding and an takes an overwhelming passion.

It isalso getting much more expensive  and difficult to obtain many of the key ingredients. The prices for ALoeswood and Sandalwoods have recently gone up around 20% to 30%, that assuming you can find them. The same holds true for most of the oils used in perfumery. Not to mention the many governmental restrictions being imposed or thought up. Its a great time to be into he naturals and at the same time it is a bit scary.

So, when you find them…enjoy!

[Links below cleaned up and edited – Mike 7/6/21]

Ca Fleure Bon
Anya’s Garden
Anu Essentials Blog
I’m Just Saying
Bellyflowers
Ellenoire
Aromatics International
Olive and Oud
A Little Ol’Factory
Natural Perfumes
Aromatherapy Contessa
Absolute Trygve

7 Comments

  1. Precious said,

    May 11, 2014 at 6:39 am

    I want to learn are bout to learn making perfumes

  2. Anya said,

    June 4, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Hi Ross:

    It’s always so engaging to read what a talented incense maker, and natural perfumer such as yourself has to say. Thanks for participating in the anniversary and I look forward to swapping natural goodies with you in the future 😉

    • Ross said,

      June 5, 2011 at 5:50 pm

      Thanks for the invitation!
      There are so many similarities between incense and perfume, but the one major difference that makes the use of naturals stand out for me is the fire/heat aspect. To me, it seems as though natural materials fair somewhat better and make the difference in scent. Of course, they are also making the difference in cost and availability 🙂

  3. Denise Smith said,

    June 3, 2011 at 8:57 am

    Yes it is scary, I am rather new to studying/creating with natural
    perfume etc. I do sometime wonder if I started to late. Nah, time
    to join the good fight!

  4. Mark said,

    June 2, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I agree. Ross’s writing style is so intuitive and expressive.

  5. Lisa BTB said,

    June 2, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I really enjoy reading your blog Ross. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    • Ross Urrere said,

      June 3, 2011 at 9:07 am

      Thanks Lisa


Leave a comment